Information About Mariam - Hemel Hempstead tutor

Profile Picture

Mariam's profile picture


This is how 3 referees rated Mariam:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00

Map Location

Map for Mariam (Miss)


Personal Description:

My name is Mariam and I am an English graduate, and have recently attained my degree from Brunel University. I aspire to be an English teacher and will hopefully go on to gain a PGCE qualification after I complete my current Masters degree in English Literature, which I am completing at King's College London . Teaching the subject of English is something I feel passionate about and it is my goal to help my tutees in any way possible. I believe that every student is capable of reaching their potential and I believe it is my job to help them to do this. Apart from being a student, I take part in a number of activities such as attending the gym, organising charitable events and of course, reading! I am currently completing a TEFL course which will provide me with a qualified title to teach abroad. The course has trained me to be able to teach the language of English to non speaking students where I focus on speaking, writing and listening. So far, I have also learnt effective ways to teach punctuation, essay writing and improve analysing skills.

Tutoring Experience:

I have tutored four students in the past at primary and secondary level, all of which progressed in English and went on to achieve great results. I have to say, apart from gaining incredible results, there are other benefits to having a tutor. Many of my tutees have suffered from low confidence levels and one mere instance of succeeding can help them with other situations in life, situations they are able to deal with confidently. Apart from official tutees, I have tutored my three younger siblings and I feel proud of the way they have progressed, academically, socially and mentally.

Tutoring Approach:

My approach to tutoring involves a variety of strategies which I utilise to create a tailored programme to best suit your needs. For those who need tutoring for exams, I study the specifications and identify the student's weak points and aim to strengthen them. I am efficient and organised and I prepare a lesson plan before hand which may involve activities that are made fun or mini tasks (again, this depends on the tutees needs). Overall, one to one tuition is a very effective approach and enables all the attention to be diverted to one particular student enabling me as a tutor to base all efforts towards making my tutees succeed!


  • Brunel University (2013) - 2:1 (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • TEFL Online (2012) - In progress (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • Kingsbury Sixth Form (2009) - A and two B grades (A in English Language) (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Falinge Park High School (2007) - 10 A-C's (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Urdu
Availability: Weekends
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Hemel Hempstead English tutor, Hemel Hempstead Primary English tutor, Hemel Hempstead Secondary English tutor, Hemel Hempstead GCSE English tutor, Hemel Hempstead A-Level English tutor