Skip to main content

Information About Margaret - Worthing tutor

Profile Picture

Margaret's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Margaret:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Music

Hourly Rate
Primary £22.00
Secondary £22.00
GCSE £22.00
Casual Learner £22.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

My name is Margaret and I am an ISM Registered Private Teacher and a member of EPTA. I have an Enhanced DBS Check which is Current. My Qualifications include Grade 8 Piano, CTABRSM in Piano,
ANCM in Composing/Songwriting,NCFE Level 3 in Education and Training(Adults).
I mainly teach Piano and Music Theory, but I also teach Keyboard and Easy Guitar. I have had a few
Songs published in the past, and I compose Piano Solos and I am soon going to Self-publish a book of
7 Songs and Piano Solos called 'Nature Scenes'.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been teaching Piano,Keyboard & Music Theory for over 32 years. I have a 100% pass rate with my
Children/Teenagers doing ABRSM/TRINITY/MTB Grades in Piano/ Keyboard/Music Theory Since I started Teaching in 1984. Many of my pupils have got Merits and Distinctions as well as Passes.I Teach Grades
1-7/8 in Piano/ Grades 1-6 in Composition/ 1-5 in Keyboard and Music Theory and Initial - Grade 3 in GuitarI also Teach Prep Tests (ABRSM). I teach Classical/Jazz Piano/Soft Rock/Popular/Folk etc With books / Without books/Sight reading/Aural Tests/Songwriting/help with GCSE Music Composing. I presently teach a nearly - blind man who has done 3 exams- the last one 93%! Also mildly Dyslexic and
mildly Autistic children, one got 82% in a MTB exam with me being the examiner in my house.
Piano from 5 years upwards/ Guitar(Classical) 7-8 years upwards Adults are Welcome for all subjects
mentioned.

Tutoring Approach:

I always am friendly to all who want to learn from me - I make it my aim to make the occasional musical
joke to break the ice, and also not to take wrong notes as a criminal offence! (Although we are aiming at
a good rendition eventually). I also teach How to practise, and how to Perform (totally different!)
I am of the camp of 'Doing Your Best & That's Enough' and 'Feel the Fear, and Do It Anyway'

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • National College of Music (2008) - ANCM Composition (College) (✔ On File)
  • Open University (2006) - A214 Understanding Music Level 3 (College) (✔ On File)
  • ABRSM (2004) - CTABRSM Piano (College) (✔ On File)
  • OCA (1999) - OCA Music 1 (Composing) (College) (✔ On File)

Tags: Worthing Music tutor, Worthing Primary Music tutor, Worthing Secondary Music tutor, Worthing GCSE Music tutor, Worthing Casual Learner Music tutor