Information About Margaret - Chesterfield tutor -
(3 reviews)

Profile Picture

Margaret's profile picture


This is how 3 referees rated Margaret:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Study Skills

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £15.00
GCSE £15.00
A-Level £15.00
University £15.00
Casual Learner £15.00

Map Location

Map for Margaret (Ms)


Personal Description:

I am a BA(Hons) graduate from Oxford University where I studied Human Sciences and I took Maths at ‘A’ level before that. In addition, I have over 20 years’ experience of working as a social researcher for government where a key aspect of the job was strong skills in report writing and proof reading.

I have 3 children. One experienced learning difficulties at school because of a brain illness when she was young; I have given her support throughout her school career to handle her dyslexia and organisation of her studies. My other two children are now starting on their university careers.

I have a personal interest in music and the arts.

Tutoring Experience:

I have supported all my children through their school careers, in particular my child with dyslexia and I have great patience in handling this problem. I have also helped relatives and friends’ children where they have experienced difficulty to enable them to achieve their potential.

I give support in an adult numeracy class, helping people who have struggled with maths and numeracy problems throughout their life and wish to gain qualifications. I also run a recorder group for adults with differing levels of playing skill, some of whom started to learn music as adults.

Tutoring Approach:

I would make an initial assessment of the child or student’s capabilities in the area where help was required and would ask to see examples of their current work where appropriate. I would then talk with the child or student about what they need help with and what they would want to achieve. The aim would be to build up confidence to tackle the areas they are struggling with and to enable them to achieve their potential. Students could bring along work set at school or college or could work on different tasks to develop their strengths.

I can do tuition from my home or can travel to your home, with an additional payment towards travel costs.


  • Chesterfield College (2011) - Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector (PTLLS) (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • University of Manchester (2001) - MA(Econ) Social Research Methods and Statistics (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • University of Oxford (1979) - BA(Hons) Human Sciences (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • School (1975) - A levels in Mathematics, Further Mathematics and Chemistry (Other) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (daytime)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Chesterfield Maths tutor, Chesterfield Study Skills tutor, Chesterfield Primary Maths tutor, Chesterfield Secondary Maths tutor, Chesterfield GCSE Maths tutor, Chesterfield Casual Learner Maths tutor, Chesterfield Primary Study Skills tutor, Chesterfield Secondary Study Skills tutor, Chesterfield GCSE Study Skills tutor, Chesterfield A-Level Study Skills tutor, Chesterfield University Study Skills tutor, Chesterfield Casual Learner Study Skills tutor