Skip to main content

Information About Marco - Leeds tutor

Profile Picture

Marco's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Marco:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Marco offers a discount of 25% on their first / introductory lesson!

Italian

Hourly Rate
Secondary £15.00
GCSE £15.00
A-Level £15.00
University £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Latin

Hourly Rate
Secondary £15.00
GCSE £15.00
A-Level £15.00
University £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Map Location

Map for Marco (Dr)

Share

Personal Description:

I am Marco, 32 year old from Northern Italy. I have a varied background with roots in the humanities, with a BA in Italian Language and Literature - with a focus on Creative Writing - and an MA in Linguistics. In 2015 I graduated at the University of Leeds with a PhD in Computational Linguistics, in particular on the study of genres and topics in machine translation.
I have a variety of interests: Italian literature, art and underground cinema, but also videogames and comics. I am an illustrator myself and I am active in the small press community with the production of cartoons and fanzines.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been tutoring several pupils from high school throughout my academic studies, teaching Italian, Latin, history, English and Italian literature. I have been providing private tuition of Italian as foreign language to university students as well.
I also have experience of teaching in an academic environment as I have been co-tutor of the module "Principles and Applications of Machine Translation" at the University of Leeds from February to April 2013.

Tutoring Approach:

As a tutor I always want to understand (and meet) the needs of my students. As different people want to learn languages/literature/history etc. for different reason I want to tailor my tutoring according to this. Therefore I use a flexible approach, by employing different learning resources, from books to magazines, from movies to digital applications. In general I try to create an engaging environment that stimulates the learner and keeps him/her focused and interested in the subject.

Qualifications:

  • University of Leeds (2014) - PhD Computational Linguistics - Machine Translation (Doctorate) (✔ On File)
  • University of Padova (Italy) (2008) - MA Linguistics (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • University of Padova (Italy) (2006) - BA Literature (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: Italian
Additional Languages: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Leeds Italian tutor, Leeds Latin tutor, Leeds Secondary Italian tutor, Leeds GCSE Italian tutor, Leeds A-Level Italian tutor, Leeds University Italian tutor, Leeds Casual Learner Italian tutor, Leeds Secondary Latin tutor, Leeds GCSE Latin tutor, Leeds A-Level Latin tutor, Leeds University Latin tutor, Leeds Casual Learner Latin tutor