Manuel

Manuel

Greenwich Tutor

NOTE: HAVING MOVED TO ZURICH I CAN ONLY OFFER TUITION THERE OR VIA Removed AND E-MAIL

While I have taught an awful lot of medieval, 15hth, 16th and 19th century history over the last two years I am originally a specialist in 20th century history. I have successfully defended a PhD thesis in history at King's College London in December 2010 and am preparing the publication of the thesis. While the subject was British and French colonialism/decolonization in Southeast Asia, the Cold War and domestic developments also played their part. The PhD comes on top of previous studies in Portuguese colonial/domestic history and undergraduate studies in the US, where I focused on non-European history, i.e. the Americas, the Caribbean, India, Africa and the Middle East. Having previously received a thorough education in European history, there are few regions, periods, themes and protagonists that I have not studied at some point.
Apart from history, I also tutor German, French and English as a foreign language. The former is my mother tongue, which I have also extensively used as a PR consultant and translator. The latter I learned during four years in secondary school, followed by a spell at Alliance Française in Paris. On top of that thorough training, about 50% of research documents used for my PhD were in French. I currently also live with French speakers and continue to read French literature. As regards EFL, I had to take university entrance examinations for foreigners myself so know the structure and techniques required for the IELTS or TOEFL. Having spent 15 years in the US and the UK I am by now fluent in English.

Tutoring Experience

I have been tutoring for about three years now. Clients have ranged from 6-year old pupils to adults, individuals and small groups. The topics covered stretch from ancientl to contemporary history, German, French, EFL (preparation for IELTS) and essay writing (undergraduate and graduate). I previously acquired additional experience as an assistant lecturer at university and am currently studying for a Postgraduate Certificate of Education. Apart from that, I also work as a tennis coach (LTA, level 2) whereby I train individuals and groups of up to 30 children and teenagers.

Tutoring Approach

Listen (and watch) above anything else. I find that there is little point in lecturing as long as one does not have a clear grasp of a student's foundations and needs. Moreover, I'm flexible knowing that emergencies can arise quickly and unexpectedly.
Apart from that, I am a strong advocate of a nuts and bolts education. I find that many of my language pupils lack a vocabulary and an understanding of even fundamental grammar rules. Equally, my history students struggle to write coherent and grammatically correct essays. So I often take a step back and start from scratch patiently building up the necessary skills and knowledge.

LanguagesGerman, English (British), French, Spanish
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

King's College London2011DoctoratePhD in British and French Decolonisation
King's College London2004MastersMA in Imperial and Commonwealth History
New York University1998BachelorsBA in History
British Lawn Tennis Association2012OtherTennis coaching diploma

Manuel's Feedback

Feedback
5
Published feedback
5
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Manuel
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
English
Primary£22
Secondary£22
GCSE£25
A-Level£25
French
Primary£22
Secondary£22
GCSE£25
A-Level£25
German
Primary£22
Secondary£22
GCSE£25
A-Level£25
University£25
Casual Learner£25
History
Primary£22
Secondary£22
GCSE£25
A-Level£25
University£27
Casual Learner£27
English (Foreign Language)
Primary£22
Secondary£22
GCSE£25
A-Level£25
University£25
Casual Learner£25
Media / Communication Studies
Primary£22
Secondary£22
GCSE£25
A-Level£25
University£25
Casual Learner£25