Information About Maire - Dunmurry tutor -
(3 reviews)

Profile Picture

Maire's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Maire:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
University £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00


Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00

Map Location

Map for Maire (Mrs)


Personal Description:

I am a graduate of both University of Ulster at Jordanstown and Queens University Belfast. I returned to higher education as a mature student, studying European and American history to Masters level. I then turned my attentions to the study of law also to Masters level. I am married with seven children. I worked for 25 years as a school supervisor. Friendly. hard working. dedicated, widely experienced with regard to children with special educational needs. I have a particular interest in working with students with Aspergers. At Queens University I was elected student representative to the law faculty. At the University of Ulster I was elected President of the American Society. I hold relevant police checks to work with children and vulnerable adults.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been home tutoring for three years with excellent pass results, I can provide a number of references from very satisfied parents and students. I also have experience teaching Irish language classes in local community center for 10 years.
Currently working within community education, with adult learners.
This year (2012)I have had a 100% pass rate including three students who have Aspergers Syndrome, and I can provide excellent first hand references from parents of students.
This year (2013) again I had a 100% pass rate and thus I can provide testimonials to confirm the standard of teaching that I offer to students

Tutoring Approach:

Emphasis on understanding subject via visual stimulus e.g. photographs. films, artifacts in co- ordination with written work, I introduce to students relevant historical discourses and also speed reading I further use the usual structure of books and study of previous examination papers, occasionally set course work. I have wide teaching experience and deal with the practicalities of lesson planning and how to self assess work. I aim to present a cheery schooling environment and promote a happy attitude towards scholastic acheivement and thus create studious enthusiasm in all subjects


  • QUEENS UNIVERSITY BELFAST (2010) - Master in Legal Science. (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • UNIVERSITY OF ULSTER (2005) - M.A. Local Hisotry (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • UNIVERSITY OF ULSTER (2001) - B.A. joint hons Humanities (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: IRISH GAELIC
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Dunmurry English tutor, Dunmurry History tutor, Dunmurry Law tutor, Dunmurry Primary English tutor, Dunmurry Secondary English tutor, Dunmurry GCSE English tutor, Dunmurry A-Level English tutor, Dunmurry Primary History tutor, Dunmurry Secondary History tutor, Dunmurry GCSE History tutor, Dunmurry A-Level History tutor, Dunmurry University History tutor, Dunmurry Casual Learner History tutor, Dunmurry GCSE Law tutor, Dunmurry A-Level Law tutor