Skip to main content

Information About Lucie - Holmfirth tutor -

Profile Picture

Lucie's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Lucie:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Map Location

Map for Lucie

Personal Description:

I am a vibrant, enthusiastic hard working Secondary School teacher with a vast amount of experience in the teaching field, not only in the classroom but outside also.
After achieving an A* in mathematics at Secondary School, I decided to complete a highly demanding hard working Law Degree at University , however after completion I realised I still had a burning desire to teach mathematics. After an intensive 1 year mathematics course of degree and A level mathematics I completed the PGCE. I have been teaching for 6 years now of which I had a son inbetween who is now four.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been teaching for 6 years of which after 2 years I was promoted to being the KS3 numeracy across the curriculum coordinator and Second in the mathematics department at a Secondary High School teaching a range of ability students at Key Stage 3 and Key Stage 4 of which I thoroughly enjoy. Previous to me completing my NQT year and as part of my PGCE, I taught in 3 different Secondary Schools including a Special Needs School for the ages of 12-18. This experience taught me the value of how every learner is different and how every learner processes and understands mathematics at a different rate and in a variety of ways. My experience has shown how mathematics ha different purposes for everbody whether it be to learn A* Algebra or whether it be to learn how to exchange amounts of money in real life every day contexts.

I have also personally tutored a student who progressed from a C to an A in the space of 3 months. Also I have tutored another student of which we raised their grade from a D to the crucial C.

I have these past 4 years been tutoring KS2 students (year 6) in helping them access the more new more challenging curriculum. This student went from being a 3a on the old national curriculum which is below average to scoring **Telephone Number Removed** the new more challenging curriculum this academic year **Telephone Number Removed** was considered to be average. Everyone can excel!

I have also taught in Primary School for a six week period of which I was able to see the difference in how mathematics is taught and received by the learners. I was able to underpin and address all the misconceptions that young minds and learners have regarding mathematics of which is a key strength of mine throughout all Key stages.

Tutoring Approach:

Mathematics is accessible to ALL learners regardless of ability and age, and I know I have the skills and ability to make mathematics clear for everyone. I have the flexibility and experience to personify all teaching methods to suit the individual learner so that they achieve the maximum progress. I always go the extra mile to make mathematics fun and engaging and real and relevant to every day life. I feel it crucial that every learner should have confidence when learning of which I instill every step of the way when teaching mathematics. I not only give learners the confidence to 'do' mathematics, but to also be able to digest and 'teach' mathematics,which has been proven to be 95% more effective in retention.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)


  • Manchester Metropolitan University (2012) - PGCE:Merit (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • Manchester Metropolitan University (2011) - Mathematics Enhancement Course:Pass (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • Manchester Metropolitan University (2010) - LLB Law Degree 2:1 (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Wardle High School Sixth Form. (2007) - 3 A Levels (College) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Holmfirth Maths tutor, Holmfirth Primary Maths tutor, Holmfirth Secondary Maths tutor, Holmfirth GCSE Maths tutor, Holmfirth Casual Learner Maths tutor