Skip to main content

Information About Louise - Glenrothes tutor -

Profile Picture

Louise's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Louise:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £30.00

Map Location

Map for Louise

Personal Description:

I live in Fife with my husband and two young children. We recently moved back from a two year stay in Arizona where I taught Junior High School. I am a Principal Teacher teaching in Glenrothes. Most of my spare time is taken with Highland Dance classes and competitions with my daughter, so I have busy weekends. I make space around this to tutor.

I have recently completed a PGCE in Educational Leadership with the University of Edinburgh as well as two additional CPD workshops in coaching and collaborative teaching. I have developed my teaching skills through countless hours of professional development over the past four years - since my return from the USA.

I teach from my home this year as I am unable to travel.

Tutoring Experience:

I have taught English in Fife for 18 years and am fully registered with the GTC. I have extensive experience teaching 'old' Standard Grade and Higher, and currently teach National 4, 5 and the new Higher National 6. I have taught a variety of levels and abilities with great success in exam results.

Over four years, I have tutored 18 National 5 students and 19 Higher students. Each student has had their own challenges to face with some facing timing issues, dyslexia and comprehension difficulties. Some students were told or it was suggested that they would not pass their level. However, with hard work and effort, each one of my students achieved their potential. In many cases, students gained more than 30% more than their prelim score. I am proud of each grade they have achieved.

National 5
A = 10
B = 4
C = 4
Higher
A = 7
B = 8
C = 4

I spent two years teaching in the USA from 2011-2013 and gained valuable experience teaching a different curriculum for a short time.

I develop many resources and courses for every level from S1-S6 and have a student centred approach to my teaching practice. I currently mark for SQA and have done so every year I have lived in Scotland: I have marked National 5 paper 1 for two years. I also marked National 5 and Higher Folio this year.

Tutoring Approach:

I have a variety of support materials for tutoring; taking account of needs and abilities I try aim to match each lesson to skills development. I have a friendly approach to teaching and build on a student's strengths as well as key weaknesses. Close Reading question types and critical essay structures are my specialty; I am currently adapting exam papers to match new question types and success criteria.

I have a flexible approach to teaching exam skills in these areas and can help with literature studied for Scottish Set text as we find our way with the new CFE Senior Phase.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Edinburgh University (2001) - English Secondary Teaching (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • St. Andrews University (2000) - MA English (hons) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Glenrothes English tutor, Glenrothes Secondary English tutor, Glenrothes GCSE English tutor, Glenrothes A-Level English tutor