Louise

I started teaching when I realised my training as a classical singer was not going to earn me fame and fortune! I lived in London before I went to Cheltenham to train as a teacher of English and have never once regretted my decision to change my career pathway. I'm told I'm lively and funny and entertaining when I teach - something I'm not conscious of, but I do always seem to laugh a lot, as well as push my students to achieve their very best. It just goes to show that successful learning doesn't have to be dull and boring! I love chocolate, running and the inspirational view of the Malvern Hills from the cottage. I find living in the countryside calming and restful and used to enjoy walking our mad, black and white dog Poppy every day. Now we have a mad black and white cat, appropriately named Dottie, who often chooses to join in my tutoring sessions!

Tutoring Experience

I have been teaching for twenty five years and worked successfully with all abilities at all levels. I have worked in a variety of secondary schools, state and private, in Gloucestershire. Most recently I have worked in a school which specialises in working with bright dyslexic students and have really enjoyed seeing the amazing results that previously under achieving students can attain with appropriate intervention and motivation.

Tutoring Approach

I love working with young people and always aim to tailor my sessions to the individual needs of my students. I like to establish a friendly working rapport and tackle the student's needs within an atmosphere of support, lots of humour, hard work - and refreshments when necessary! Setting work to complete in the student's own time can be useful in order to progress more quickly but is not an essential part of my approach. I am happy to support texts and work being studied in school, and/or focus on key areas of challenge as a self contained study pathway. As well as empowering students to achieve at a high level at both GCSE and A level, I also specialise in working with students who need different learning styles and approaches in order to achieve their optimum potential, those students who may suffer with learning difficulties and related anxiety issues in particular. I prefer to work from home but I am happy to travel within the general Malvern area if necessary.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

University of Cambridgeshire1985BachelorsBA Hons English
University of Gloucestershire1994PGCEEnglish Secondary

Louise's Feedback

Feedback
1
Published feedback
1
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Rating from 3 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught