Information About Louis - Peckham tutor

Profile Picture

Louis's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Louis:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £25.00


Hourly Rate
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £25.00

Map Location

Map for Louis (Mr)


Personal Description:

PLEASE NOTE: I am only available during my university vacation from 18th March to 15th April and then from 6th June till 29th September.

I am currently in my second year of a 4 year Masters Mechanical Engineering course at the University of Southampton. I am therefore active in the academic field of applied mathematics and have already completed all the compulsory mathematics modules required for my degree. My current academic work also includes the application of mathematics in fluid mechanics, statics and kinematics. As a result, I am acutely aware of all the prior mathematics knowledge required for any student who wishes to pursue a degree in Mechanical Engineering.

I completed my A Levels in Mathematics (Grade A*) and Further Mathematics (Grade A) through the AQA exam board in 2014, meaning the A Level course I completed is still active and the exams I sat will be very similar to those being sat now. I therefore know exactly what is required to attain high grades at A Level Mathematics and Further Mathematics.

Additionally, I am bilingual in English and German as I have an English father and a German mother. I completed an A Level (Grade A) and GCSE (Grade A*) in German in 2014 and 2010 respectively (I took my German GCSE early). I am therefore willing to teach KS3 and GCSE written and spoken German and A Level spoken German. As I am naturally fluent in spoken German, I can communicate orally without an accent. Good pronunciation is highly sought after in GCSE and A Level German oral exams!

Tutoring Experience:

During my A2 Levels at Bacon's College, I voluntarily ran exam revision classes for those in the year below for AS Level Mathematics and Further Mathematics, helping students with worked solutions to textbook exercises, past exam questions and general exam technique. I was also a "Maths Buddy", providing assistance with maths to struggling KS3 students.

I also voluntarily provided one to one spoken after school German tuition to GCSE and A Level students in preparation for their oral exams.

At university I have come into contact with some first year students and voluntarily assisted them with exam preparation and coursework, particularly for mathematics and mathematics based modules (e.g. statics, kinematics and fluid mechanics).

Tutoring Approach:


The key to learning mathematics is practice. You can not read or remember maths! You can only learn maths by doing as many exercises as possible, ideally past exam questions. I learnt each topic at A Level by working through a booklet I made containing all the past exam questions since the start of the course for each topic. I will provide each tutee with such a printed or electronic booklet containing practice questions relevant to the topic/module being covered.

My Mathematics lessons will be based on the course textbook and consist of me introducing the key points of a topic, including any derivations or important formulae to be learnt. We will then cover some relevant worked examples in the course textbook before working through relevant past exam questions/exercises that I will collate for each lesson. I will then set some homework questions from the booklet I provide for the tutee to complete before our next lesson. Feedback will be provided for the tutee on their answers to these homework questions in the following lesson. When a module has been completed, I will set a mock past examination paper/test for the tutee to complete under timed conditions in their own time so that I can monitor their progress. Again, I will provide graded feedback on their performance. I will always contact my tutee prior to each lesson to confirm what is to be covered, ensuring that I prepare the correct material.


I am willing to teach KS3 and GCSE written and spoken German and A Level spoken German.

Again, much like maths the key to German is practice! Although there is much vocabulary and grammar to learn, this knowledge will never stick by just reading it! My German lessons will therefore only ever be active. They will consist of spoken conversation and interactive reading, grammar or extended writing exercises all based on relevant textbooks or past exam papers. I will also set homework exercises for my tutee to complete before our next session. I will then provide feedback on these exercises in the following session. I will always contact my tutee prior to each lesson to confirm what is to be covered, ensuring that I prepare the correct material.


  • Bacon's College (2014) - A Level's: Mathematics A*, Further Mathematics A, German A, Physics B (College) (✔ On File)
  • Bacon's College (2012) - GCSE's: 5A*s, 5As, 2Bs (School) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: German
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Peckham Maths tutor, Peckham German tutor, Peckham Secondary Maths tutor, Peckham GCSE Maths tutor, Peckham A-Level Maths tutor, Peckham Secondary German tutor, Peckham GCSE German tutor, Peckham A-Level German tutor