Katharine Liz

Katharine Liz

I am married with two children in their late 20s. I live in North Warwickshire within easy distance of Tamworth, Ashby, Burton and Nuneaton.

I have a joint honours degree in Maths and Economics from Durham University and worked for over 33 years in the state sector.

I took early retirement in August 2011 but want to continue to use my expertise helping students achieve their potential in Maths. I have the flexibility and time to commit to tuition.

My most recent CRB check was in 2010.

Tutoring Experience

I have over 30 years experience teaching Maths to 16-19 year olds in a Sixth Form College. I specialise in Maths at AS/A level but I have also taught AS/A level Use of Maths (AQA), various FSMQs at Advanced level and GCSE Maths

Part of my job was to provide workshop support, on an individual or small group basis, either to help students catch up work missed or help them with work they found difficult.

Since September 2011 I have done some A level supply teaching, some A level exam marking and over 1000 hours of private tuition, mostly at AS and A level.

Tutoring Approach

I am an experienced teacher and an A level maths specialist; I only tutor Maths.

Whatever your individual needs I can work with you to help you improve your chances of success, whether you want a few hours support just before exams or more regular weekly or fortnightly tuition.

I have a wealth of experience preparing students for A level exams and I know the content of the core/pure A level syllabuses inside out. I do not tutor Further Maths.

I can adapt my methods to suit individual needs and know the sort of mistakes students make. I have a good sense of humour and considerable patience.

I am happy to travel - within a maximum of 30 minutes driving time - to teach you in your home.

I offer a discount of £5 per hour for regular weekday daytime sessions (starting before 3.30 pm). Longer sessions can also be arranged at £15 per additional 30 minutes; please contact me for details.

While I do not do regular weekend tutoring I will consider one-off sessions of at least 90 minutes with a starting price of £50 for the 90 minutes. Longer sessions pro rata.

For everyone's peace of mind I initially prefer a parent to be on site while tutoring takes place.

I currently have a limited number of spaces available. Please contact me via First Tutors to discuss your needs.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

King's College, London1978PGCEMaths
Durham University1977BachelorsMaths/Economics

Katharine Liz's Feedback

Feedback
13
Published feedback
13
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Katharine Liz
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught