Linda

Crewe Tutor

I have worked for fourteen years as a Teaching Assistant specializing in interventions in Maths, English and working with children who had just arrived in the country and needed tuition and reassurance.
Recently I have found myself working more with foreign students who have some English and am eager to develop work in this
field, with children or adults.

Tutoring Experience

After receiving an Art degree from Glasgow School of Art I went to Teacher Training College but left in the middle of the year to take up a design job in London.

Having my two sons changed my life and I learned how important these early years are by working in playgroups and nurseries and gaining my NVQ3 in Childcare and Education. I then began working as a teaching assistant in primary schools where I worked with all ages and abilities.

Tutoring Approach

I am eager to tutor one to one as I have found this is the best way to tailor the teaching to the specific needs of the pupil. Part of my training was to use different techniques to help identify the gaps children had in their learning. So often, they would find reading or maths difficult but could not say why. Identifying the 'glitches', then going back to basics and 'working' on the weaknesses in a playful way, helped build confidence and put them back on track.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Glasgow School of Art1972OtherD.A. (Diploma in Art)
County Council Training Scheme1994ProfessionalNVQ3 Childcare and Education

Linda's Feedback

Feedback
4
Published feedback
4
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
Maths
Primary£20
Casual Learner£20
English
Primary£20
Casual Learner£20
English (Foreign Language)
Primary£20
Casual Learner£20