Information About Liam - Juniper Green tutor

Profile Picture

Liam's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Liam:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £25.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Map Location

Map for Liam (Mr)


Personal Description:

Hello there. I am an experienced Latin tutor and am currently completing my PhD in Classics at the University of Edinburgh (2013-2017). I have an honours degree from University College Dublin (2008-2012) and a Masters in Classics from Trinity College Dublin (2012-2013).

I truly enjoy tutoring and understand that people come to learn Latin for many reasons. My main aim is to support my students throughout their learning and to help them achieve their own unique goals.

I live in Colinton, Edinburgh and am happy to receive tutees at my home or travel within a reasonable distance.

Tutoring Experience:

I have much experience teaching Latin. I taught Latin to two undergraduate classes at the University of Edinburgh in 2015-2016. This course covered all of the grammar in Wheelock's Latin as well as unadapted Ovid. I received excellent feedback from my students and was nominated for a student teaching award for my work.

I also have much experience teaching younger students and children. I have taught short Latin courses at various primary schools around the country and I was heavily involved in the founding of the Literacy through Latin programme here in Edinburgh, which aims to introduce Latin to state primary schools. As part of this, I spent a year teaching a class of 10 year olds at Liberton Primary School and this experience has provided me with the skills to teach and enthuse younger students.

I believe that an interest in Latin can be sparked at any age and have had great experiences with casual learners. Most recently, I worked with a tutee in her 50s who had no previous experience of Latin.

I have also received formal tutor training at the University of Edinburgh between 2014-2016.

Tutoring Approach:

Latin truly is the key to languages and I know from my own experience that the skills and tools acquired through Latin make learning other languages a much easier process.

I believe that translation is the best way to learn a language and therefore, I always tailor work to each individual student and adapt my teaching to their specific needs.

I know that language learning can make people very anxious and so I always approach my tutoring with the utmost patience and aim to provide care and support throughout the journey.

To put it simply, I love languages and I love Latin and I aim to impart this enthusiasm to all of my tutees.


  • The University of Edinburgh (2017) - PHD Classics (TBC) (College) (in progress)
  • Trinity College Dublin (2013) - MPhil. Classics (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • University College Dublin (2012) - B.A. (College) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Ancient Greek, Old Norse
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Juniper Green Latin tutor, Juniper Green Primary Latin tutor, Juniper Green Secondary Latin tutor, Juniper Green GCSE Latin tutor, Juniper Green A-Level Latin tutor, Juniper Green Casual Learner Latin tutor