Skip to main content

Information About Lewis - Maryland tutor -

Profile Picture

Lewis's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Lewis:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Lewis offers a discount of 25% on their first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00

Physics

Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00

Map Location

Map for Lewis

Personal Description:

Hi, my name is Lewis and I'm 23; I'm originally from Lancashire but I moved to London last year. I'm currently studying a dual honours postgraduate degree in 'Innovation Design Engineering' at Imperial College London and the Royal College of Art. The course has a strange name but is essentially an 'inventing' course where we're encouraged to apply our engineering knowledge to create new products. I really enjoy it as it allows me to creatively apply my undergraduate engineering degree in new and interesting ways. In 2016 I graduated from the University of Bristol with Fist Class Honours in Civil Engineering.

During school I would often struggle to grasp maths and physics the first time around. It wasn't until I sat down at home and my mum explained it to me, it would 'click'. In later years I would help my younger brother with his maths and physics homework so I have experience working through problems until it 'clicks' for others too.

Struggling in class didn't hamper my grades; I was in top set and sat many of my exams early. I think my initial struggle forced me to work harder on those topics and ultimately gave me a better understanding of them. I sat my maths IGCSE (International GCSE) exam when I was 14 years old and achieved an A*; I went on to study Maths, Further Maths and Physics at A level; as well as Art and Design.

Tutoring Experience:

I helped teach my brother from year 8 to A level.
Helped my room mate at university during our engineering exams.

Tutoring Approach:

I will tailor my tutoring based on what works best for you (e.g. visual, verbal, etc). We will break down problems into stages, and apply the methods of working through the examples to new questions. Repetition is a good way to enforce these methods, and then when you've grasped it, we can apply them to different problems. Teaching is the best way of learning, so once you understand how to tackle certain problems, I would like you to explain the different stages involved to me.

I am patient and appreciate that it can be frustrating when a topic doesn't make sense to you straight away. I also know that topics that once seemed impossible to understand can very quickly become easy with perseverance. It is important not to get downhearted when struggling, I believe anyone is capable; it may just take a bit more work or a different approach to teaching.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Imperial College London (2018) - - (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • Royal College of Art (2018) - - (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Bristol (2016) - Fist Class Honours (Masters) (✔ On File)

Tags: Maryland Maths tutor, Maryland Physics tutor, Maryland Secondary Maths tutor, Maryland GCSE Maths tutor, Maryland Secondary Physics tutor, Maryland GCSE Physics tutor