Skip to main content

Information About Lena - Wigston tutor

Profile Picture

Lena's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Lena:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £20.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

Hello! My name is Lena. I am a recent graduate excited about tutoring students in English Literature.

In 2016 I graduated from the University of York with a BA in English and Related Literature. I achieved a 2:1 overall.
I have recently finished an MA in Philosophy from UCL. I achieved a First for my thesis, and an Upper 2:1 overall.
Before university, I attended Leicester Grammar School. I have A-levels in English Literature (A), Biology (A) and Fine Art (A*).

I am based primarily around the Stoneygate/Oadby area of Leicester.

Tutoring Experience:

I have informal teaching experience tutoring friends and coursemates, and am excited to begin more formal tutoring. I am a confident and friendly person, and really enjoy meeting all sorts of different people.

Tutoring Approach:

My hope is to unlock otherwise difficult texts for students. I find that sometimes students have difficulty relating to older texts, and my aim is to bring the text to life. I always try to adapt to the student, and then approach the text in an original and imaginative way that illuminates how a modern student can relate to a Shakespeare play, for example, or a Victorian novel.

In sessions I first establish a foundation of the historical and cultural context, and then move on to looking at character, theme and style. In addition, I take great pride in helping students develop strong close reading ability. Attention will also be paid to the best ways to approach essay questions, structure essays, and write in a clear and effective style.

While I always have the mark scheme and assessment criteria in mind, I make sure not to let this diminish the from the student's active engagement with the text. I find that enjoyment and true understanding leads to the best marks.

Thank you for reading, and please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any questions!

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Qualifications:

  • UCL (2017) - Philosophy (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of York (2016) - English and Related Literature (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Wigston English tutor, Wigston GCSE English tutor, Wigston A-Level English tutor