Leela

Leela

Highbury Tutor

My name is Leela Kent-Hume, I am from Australia and have been living in the UK for nearly 3 years. I have been tutoring a number of different children over the last couple of years, ranging from years 1 through to 6 in both maths and English. I have also recently helped one of them through their year 6 SATS exam. I have also worked with one adult helping her to improve her English skills in both writing and speaking.

Tutoring Experience

I have done 2 months of teaching practicals in primary schools while undertaking my studies. I have also done 5 weeks teaching practical in an English second language school. I have been working for over two years as a teaching assistant, and I am going to do my teaching qualifications next year.

Tutoring Approach

My approach to tutoring is to keep it fun and interesting, while still learning. In the first couple sessions see how they work best, while also getting the work done. I feel that if the tutee is having some fun while doing their work then they are more likely to both enjoy the session and actually learn something from it. Also from my experience of working with children I believe that not all children work the same way and I organize the session around how they learn.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (evenings)
References Available On File

Qualifications

TEFL UK2013OtherTEFL Certificate
Charles Darwin University2014OtherGraduate Diploma in Teaching and Learning
University of Tasmania2007BachelorsBachelor of Arts

Leela's Feedback

Feedback
3
Published feedback
3
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Leela
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
Maths
Primary£25
English
Primary£25
French
Primary£25
English (Foreign Language)
Primary£25
Secondary£25
GCSE£25
A-Level£25
University£25
Casual Learner£25