Information About Lauren - Colchester tutor -
(5 reviews)

Profile Picture

Lauren's profile picture


This is how 3 referees rated Lauren:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00


Hourly Rate
A-Level £30.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £25.00
13 Plus £25.00
14 Plus £25.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00
University £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Map Location

Map for Lauren (Ms)


Personal Description:

I am a friendly, approachable and positive person, with a very conscientious attitude towards teaching. I am extremely organised and dedicated when I take on any kind of commitment. I'm resourceful, flexible and very well practised in time-management. A further testimony to my confidence and determination is that I also work as a professional musician, singing with several different bands, recording my own material, providing paid session services, and endeavouring at all times to achieve a level of professionalism and excellence.

Tutoring Experience:

I've been working as a private tutor for children, teenagers and adults since 2011. I have been continuously employed in this capacity ever since I left university. I’ve assisted students in preparing for exams and assignments, gaining admission to grammar school, improving their exam scores and moving up classroom levels, and developing their English language skills to suit a university environment.

I have also been teaching General English, Academic English and IELTS courses to teenagers and adults at Colchester College since 2012. These courses are designed for students preparing to study specialised courses at university. I was contacted directly by Colchester College for this job, due to the success of my private tutoring. During a 2015 inspection from ISI, I was complimented on my ability to engage the students, to provide clear explanations and interesting content, and to maintain a positive, friendly and energising atmosphere.

Tutoring Approach:

As a tutor, I find that one of the most important advantages of one-to-one tutoring, as opposed to teaching classes, is having the opportunity to engage with the student's personal style of learning and also being able to observe their personality. Learning is more successful when we are studying something that we enjoy, so knowing a students' interests, hobbies and so on can help me to create examples using a topic which they like.

One of the most common problems that I have come across - and one which can interfere with a student's development in a classroom - is confidence. In order to address this, I take time to establish a positive rapour with my students; to build on existing areas of achievement; and to work through areas that they find difficult in order to help to develop their self-belief. I also find that teaching them in a familiar environment helps them to feel relaxed, more able to ask questions and to participate positively in their own learning.

I tailor my lessons to suit the individual needs of my students; and provide review sessions with students and parents to monitor progress and development. I manage all of my own resources – using online materials or creating my own materials, and purchasing books where appropriate.


  • Cambridge University (2015) - Law (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Cambridge University (2011) - Law (2.i) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Colchester County High School for Girls (2008) - A Levels (3 A Grades and 1 B Grade) (College) (✔ On File)
  • Colchester County High School for Girls (2006) - GCSEs (6 A* Grades and 5 A Grades) (School) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Colchester Maths tutor, Colchester English tutor, Colchester Law tutor, Colchester Entrance Exams tutor, Colchester English (Foreign Language) tutor, Colchester Primary Maths tutor, Colchester Secondary Maths tutor, Colchester GCSE Maths tutor, Colchester Primary English tutor, Colchester Secondary English tutor, Colchester A-Level Law tutor, Colchester Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Colchester Secondary Entrance Exams tutor, Colchester GCSE Entrance Exams tutor, Colchester Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Colchester Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Colchester GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor, Colchester A-Level English (Foreign Language) tutor, Colchester University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Colchester Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor