Information About Laura - Northampton tutor


This is how 2 referees rated Laura:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00


Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £30.00

Map Location

Map for Laura (Mrs)


Personal Description:

I am 32 and have been teaching for 10 years. I am married with two children. I have a real passion for Geography and love learning about the world around us. I making a difference and inspiring young people to reach their potential.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been teaching for over 10 years, starting in Leeds and now teach in a Northamptonshire school. I have taught a range of exam boards including OCR, Edexcel and AQA. MY current strengths are teaching AQA exam board as have taught this most recently at GCSE and A-Level. I have done much exam marking. I am a highly skilled practitioner with excellent subject knowledge and have a proven track record of outstanding GCSE and A Level results. I have helped many tutees secure the grade that they need in Geography. Many of my students go on to top Universities to study Geography. In recent years I have had students go onto Oxford to study Geography and have also helped these students with their applications and interview technique.

Tutoring Approach:

I am very passionate about teaching as I really feel it makes a difference to how students perform. Students perform better when they have a passion for the subject and my enthusiasm is reflected in students attitude. Through my 10 years of teaching I have had many students become Geography teachers themselves. My aim as a tutor is to give students confidence in answering exam questions and being able to tackle new and unfamiliar problems. I feel students work best where they feel comfortable and have mutual respect. Provide a solid grounding in the subject while paying close attention to the needs of the individual. I aim to create realistic targets that the student can work to each week and gradually build up knowledge and confidence.
My teaching style is very much pupil led and I work with students independent needs to plan and teach tailor made lessons. I start from topics the students are comfortable with and move gradually towards more complex areas as their confidence builds. I am a strong believer that practice makes perfect and so I encourage plenty of exam practice so student learn how to fully adapt their answers to the questions. I will provide students with exam papers, mark schemes and revision booklets.


  • Universityof Leeds (2006) - PGCE Geography (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Sheffield (2005) - BA HONS Geography (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Northampton Geography tutor, Northampton Citizenship tutor, Northampton Secondary Geography tutor, Northampton GCSE Geography tutor, Northampton A-Level Geography tutor, Northampton Secondary Citizenship tutor, Northampton GCSE Citizenship tutor