Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: 0203 962 1468
Call now to speak to an advisor: 0203 962 1468
Laura

Laura

Having recently completed my undergraduate degree at Cambridge, I am about to start a Masters in political science at University College London. I am looking to tutor part-time in a variety of subjects. I have a passion for philosophy and religious studies, my degree subject, and loved studying them at school and university. I fully appreciate the difficulties of learning in a crowded classroom, something I always found hard. Being able to go at your own pace and ask as many questions as needed can often be tricky. I strive to encourage my tutees to ask as many questions as possible; especially with humanities subjects, this is often how the most effective learning is achieved. Aside from this, I love art and English literature and like to read widely. I also play hockey and row!

Tutoring Experience

Over the past three years, I have been a tutor on an access program in the Kent area that focuses on social mobility through education and mentoring. I have delivered workshops and lessons and designed a one-to-one mentoring program. I have also helped with revision, structuring revision timetables and university applications. During my A-levels, I tutored and mentored a student at West London Free School; not only was this going over GCSE content but also helping with revision techniques and strategies. This is all valuable experience that has shaped my current tutoring style.

Tutoring Approach

I believe that the main benefit of one-to-one tutoring is the room for discussion and flexibility. I encourage my mentees to be as vocal as possible regarding what they don't understand, I then use this to facilitate discussion and debate. Rather than teaching being a simple one-way transfer of information, I strive to make my lessons as interactive and creative as possible. I plan thoroughly and like to have a set of lessons objectives, whilst also allowing flexibility for questions and varied learning techniques. From my own personal experience, I know that tutoring is not just about explaining and clarifying knowledge but also about boosting an individuals confidence in the subject. Through discussion and debate, I hope my lessons can provide this.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

University of Cambridge2020BachelorsBA Theology and the Philosophy of Religion
Latymer Upper School2017SchoolA-levels: English (A*), Philosophy & Ethics (A*), History of Art (A), Extended Project (A*)
Latymer Upper School2015SchoolGSCEs - 5A*s, 4As

Laura's Feedback

Feedback
1
Published feedback
1
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Laura
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism