Skip to main content

Information About Laura - Leek tutor -

Profile Picture

Laura's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Laura:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Laura offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00

Map Location

Map for Laura

Personal Description:

I am 31 years old and I graduated from Staffordshire University with a degree in English Literature & Journalism in 2008. I then completed my PGCE at Manchester Met Uni in 2012 and have been teaching ever since. I live with my husband and our cocker spaniel Bailey. I love books, writing, travel and can be found walking in the peak district at the weekend!
I love my job and I'm passionate about teaching children! I feel its important to have an approach that not only suits them and their style of learning but also allows them to make the progress required. The 2014 curriculum can be a tricky thing to get your head around and sometimes a little extra help is needed.

Tutoring Experience:

A KS1 teacher for 5 years and I have been teaching Year 1 for 4 of them. In Year 1, a lot of our focus is on Phonics and learning to read so I have plenty of experience in this area. Despite being a KS1 teacher, I have previous experience in Y2 and Y4 and a good understanding of KS1 & 2 SATS. I also have experience in special needs, working with children with autism in particular.

Tutoring Approach:

After an initial discussion with parents and the pupil and an informal assessment to check where the student is at in terms of their learning, I would then develop a long term plan to meet the needs of the pupil. My approach to teaching is enjoyable, rewarding and I would ensure it fits in with my students style of learning as no two children are the same.
I am a positive and friendly person and I try to create a positive, engaging approach to learning, whatever the subject!

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Manchester University (2012) - PGCE (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • Staffordshire university (2008) - English literature (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Leek Maths tutor, Leek English tutor, Leek Primary Maths tutor, Leek Primary English tutor