Information About Laura - Farnham tutor -
(2 reviews)

Profile Picture

Laura's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Laura:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Secondary £15.00
GCSE £20.00


Hourly Rate
Secondary £15.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £20.00
University £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Combined Science

Hourly Rate
Secondary £15.00
GCSE £20.00

Map Location

Map for Laura (Miss)


Personal Description:

I graduated in July 2014 from University of Surrey (6th top Uni in UK) with a First Class Honors degree in Bioscience (Veterinary). I am now carrying out my PhD at The Pirbright Institute which involves studying the control of livestock disease. I was employed as a Research Technician last year at the Royal Veterinary College which gave me experience in teaching/assisting students within the laboratory. I am a very hard-working, motivated and organised individual with a strong interest and expertise in Biology and Science. I look forward to helping all ages achieve their potential and am very excited about progressing my tutoring career.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been most recently focused on teaching A2 Biology (AQA) from October 2015 - May 2016 which resulted in my student receiving an A in Biology in his recent exam results. I also have previous experience of tutoring biology at AS level (AQA) to a couple of students from September 2014 to May 2015 which proved very successful with one student improving from grade E at the beginning of the academic year to a B. My other student received an A for his AS Biology that summer.
I also provided intense tutoring and revision sessions as demonstrated when I tutored from March 2015 til June 2015 to a student studying GCSE double Science (AQA) which included Biology, Chemistry and Physics.

I have now been tutoring KS3/GCSE/AS/A2 for over two years and have gained a lot of experience and skills. Last year I was responsible for assisting students in the laboratory and reinforcing their knowledge learnt in the classroom into practical skills whilst working at the Vet College. Furthermore throughout University I was a STEM (Science, Technology, Maths and Engineering) Ambassador and visited local schools to take a few sessions to younger ages to show that Science can be fun. I am a keen horse-rider with a horse of my own and have plentiful experience of teaching horse-riding to all ages.

Tutoring Approach:

As a student not so long ago I appreciate the struggles students face with their studies and always try to tailor teaching to each individual student as some teaching techniques do not suit everyone`s learning style. Through personal experience I understand the need for patience and the need to ensure the fundamentals are well understood before moving up to a higher level. I try to share my enthusiasm and passion for Science (Biology in particular) to my students to make studying more enjoyable as well as successful. I actively encourage students ask questions which I feel is a fantastic tool in ensuring the student fully understands. Additionally I find past papers highly beneficial to students so they can learn not only the subject content but also what is expected of them in the exam.


  • University of Surrey (2014) - BSc (Hons) Bioscience (Veterinary) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Farnham Chemistry tutor, Farnham Biology tutor, Farnham Combined Science tutor, Farnham Secondary Chemistry tutor, Farnham GCSE Chemistry tutor, Farnham Secondary Biology tutor, Farnham GCSE Biology tutor, Farnham A-Level Biology tutor, Farnham University Biology tutor, Farnham Casual Learner Biology tutor, Farnham Secondary Combined Science tutor, Farnham GCSE Combined Science tutor