Skip to main content

Information About Kevin - Cheltenham tutor -
(3 reviews)

References

This is how 2 referees rated Kevin:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Secondary £15.00
GCSE £18.00
A-Level £22.00
University £24.00
Casual Learner £24.00

Map Location

Map for Kevin (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

I have extensive experience and successful track record in teaching Maths and Statistics. I could make a significant contribution to pupils as a tutor. I am a highly self-motivated and ambitious individual. I possess outstanding interpersonal and communication skills with the ability to work on my own. I am able to develop positive relationships at all levels. I am furthermore an organised, meticulous individual and am able to meet demanding deadlines whilst maintaining the highest of standards. Having worked in the business sector, I have gained sufficient knowledge and experience that will enable me to carry out any administration duties that may be required efficiently and effectively.

Tutoring Experience:

I have experience in teaching classes of up to 35 pupils. My experience has been within numerous secondary schools internationally.

Whilst teaching at Abbot Beyne High School (2004 – 2008), I was able to make use of my Master’s degree in Mathematical Statistics as well as my QTS which I had obtained whilst teaching at this school to further improve the educational outcomes of the pupils. I was also involved in teaching classes during the OFSTED inspection that took place at this school. As a Mathematics teacher, one of my responsibilities was to liaise with parents and carers at Parents evenings as to the progress of the pupils in their care. I also was a class tutor for a tutor group of pupils that met at the beginning of the day and was the Teacher chosen to remain with this group for their time at the School and was also responsible for teaching PSHE to this class.

At Krugersdorp High School (in South Africa), I was a Mathematics Teacher and I was a Border Master in the Boys Hostel and Hostel Father to the Grade 11 boys (ages 16-17 year olds).

Tutoring Approach:

I feel I would be able to offer students an enquiry-based approach to achieve their mathematics skills. I believe it is essential to be approachable and to value each student according to their ability. I have previous experience in teaching classes of mixed ability where I was able to give positive encouragement to certain students and at the same time encouraging those with the ability to move ahead. I would be prepared to give students the opportunity to discuss their progress, give feedback and help them to set goals to achieve their mathematics skills.

Qualifications:

  • General Teaching Council of England (2005) - QTS (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • University of South Africa (UNISA) (1992) - MSc (Cum Laude) (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • University of Natal (South Africa) (1986) - BSc (Hons) (Other) (✔ On File)
  • University of Natal (South Africa) (1985) - BSc (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Cheltenham Maths tutor, Cheltenham Secondary Maths tutor, Cheltenham GCSE Maths tutor, Cheltenham A-Level Maths tutor, Cheltenham University Maths tutor, Cheltenham Casual Learner Maths tutor