Skip to main content

Information About Kevin - Tooting tutor -
(28 reviews)

Profile Picture

Kevin's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Kevin:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Chemistry

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Secondary £45.00£33.75
GCSE £45.00£33.75
A-Level £45.00£33.75
University £45.00£33.75
Casual Learner £45.00£33.75

Study Skills

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
GCSE £45.00£33.75
A-Level £45.00£33.75
University £45.00£33.75
Casual Learner £45.00£33.75

Map Location

Map for Kevin (Dr)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a full time Chemistry tutor and have been tutoring Chemistry to GCSE and A-Level students since 2005 in Surrey and London. I cover all the syllabuses (AQA, Edexcel, OCR A and B plus iGCSE) and I also tutored at University during my PhD for 3 years.

In addition to this, I help students with their study skills and exam technique a lot. It is in area that is neglected in schools but every students needs help with this. The beauty is that these skills can be applied to any subject. It is possibly even more important than the subject material.

My qualifications: I studied at Edinburgh University where I got a 1st class Honours degree in Chemistry and a PhD in Organic Chemistry. I also did a Masters in Biomedical Science at Imperial College in London.

Tutoring Experience:

Tutored at University during PhD for 3 years.

Tutored A-Level and GCSE for 7 years.

Worked in a top London school for 3 months.

Tutoring Approach:

My approach is to be friendly and encouraging. I feel that it is important for the student to feel comfortable with the tutor so that they can open up and ask questions that they might not do with a teacher in school.

I try to keep the tutoring as simple as possible as students often come for tutoring after being confused by teachers. I feel that it is important to work on the students mindset constantly as students often have lost confidence or do not believe in themselves enough.

I use study guides that are simple and colourful and easy to read, which can provide an alternative viewpoint to what is in the students course book plus websites, my own notes/tutorials, and the main textbooks from their syllabus.

As it is a 1 on 1 session, I tend to do most of the work initially; going through the theory so the student is clear on it before moving on to questions/homework and eventually exam papers. It is important for the student to grasp the fundamentals first and have a good knowledge before attempting any questions. However, it is also important for the student to contribute and be challenged.

I like to see the student progress and make the best of their abilities. While I am friendly and laidback I also encourage the student to work harder if need be. It is important to assess what the student responds best to. Some can be left on their own while others need constant reminders!

Qualifications:

  • Imperial College (2007) - Biomedical Science (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • Edinburgh University (2004) - Chemistry (Doctorate) (✘ Not On File)
  • Edinburgh University (2000) - Chemistry (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Tooting Chemistry tutor, Tooting Study Skills tutor, Tooting Secondary Chemistry tutor, Tooting GCSE Chemistry tutor, Tooting A-Level Chemistry tutor, Tooting University Chemistry tutor, Tooting Casual Learner Chemistry tutor, Tooting GCSE Study Skills tutor, Tooting A-Level Study Skills tutor, Tooting University Study Skills tutor, Tooting Casual Learner Study Skills tutor