Skip to main content

Information About Kelly - Edinburgh tutor

Profile Picture

Kelly's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Kelly:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Psychology

Hourly Rate
Secondary £35.00
GCSE £35.00
A-Level £35.00

Map Location

Map for Kelly

Personal Description:

Hi, my name is Kelly. I am currently a doctoral researcher investigating child trafficking in Scotland at Stirling University based within the Faculty of Social Sciences as well as the Scottish Centre for Crime and Justice Research. At present i am tutoring in Psychology (a subject which i am qualified at to a BA Honours level), and can cover topics such as forensic psychology, educational psychology, social psychology, child development as well as numerous other areas. I can also cover Criminology.

I also volunteer with a charity that advocates on behalf of unaccompanied asylum seeking children as well as trafficked children. As children are unaccompanied asylum seekers or victims of trafficking some have extremely complex needs. Some of the young people are also quite socially isolated which can result in disengagement with education and the community overall. Other roles include:

- Attending seminars (took part in a workshop discussing the everyday geopolitics of young people in Scotland)
- Currently working on devising a series of group activities on the topic of resilience to increase levels of resilience
- Currently working on training presentation materials around child trafficking to deliver to practitioners (e.g social workers), police officers etc
- Accompanying young people on Home Office appointments

I am also a member of a working group made up of parents and pupils in a local primary school to raise awareness of the convention of the rights of the child. This is so the articles of this convention can be embodied into the schools ethos and to make the children more aware of their human rights.

Tutoring Experience:

I have tutored English as a second language one-to-one with several unaccompanied asylum seeking children, some of whom have difficulties with speech impediments, and who of course have some difficulty in communicating in English as it is not their native language.

I was also a volunteer classroom assistant in a local primary school where i supervised and assisted reading groups in P1 and P2 classes and was responsible for assisting 8 children at a time.

Throughout my time on my Masters i tutored a few of the international students within my course. I specifically tutored in how to navigate the UK education system, how to tailor their work to cover the intended learning outcomes of the modules, how to structure their essays as well as how to demonstrate critical thinking.

Tutoring Approach:

We all have different learning styles, a fact that does not seem to be properly represented in our education system. I first like to ascertain how my tutee learns best and then tailor my tutoring appropriately. I aim to teach my tutee not only about the subject, but also how to think critically about the information they are presented with. By doing so they are able to critically analyse their learning material, and will be able to demonstrate their intellectual arguments with supporting evidence, a skill that is wholly necessary if contemplating further education.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Glasgow (2015) - Transnational Crime, Justice and Security (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Edinburgh Napier University (2014) - Psychology (Honours) (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Edinburgh Psychology tutor, Edinburgh Secondary Psychology tutor, Edinburgh GCSE Psychology tutor, Edinburgh A-Level Psychology tutor