Skip to main content

Information About Katie - Edinburgh tutor

Profile Picture

Katie's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Katie:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Secondary £19.00
GCSE £19.00
A-Level £20.00
University £24.00
Casual Learner £25.00

History Of Art

Hourly Rate
GCSE £19.00
A-Level £20.00

Map Location

Map for Katie

Personal Description:

Hello! My name is Katie. I'm originally from Northern Ireland but have come over to Scotland to study, first to Glasgow where I received a first class degree from the University of Glasgow, and now to Edinburgh where I am currently working towards my masters. When I'm not in the library, I'm out and about exploring the city, doing freelance journalism, taking photographs, making some art, or at one of Edinburgh's beautiful cinemas!

I have 10 GCSEs in English Literature, English Language, Maths, Spanish, Home Economics, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Art and Design, and Religious Education.
I have fours AS-Levels and three A-Levels: an A* in English Literature, an A* in Art, and an A in Home Economics.

I am looking to tutor students in English Literature, Language, Home Economics, or Art/ Art History.

Tutoring Experience:

I have previously tutored high school students through their Highers dissertation. I worked with students both individually and in groups in the classroom, reading over their work, making suggestions, and giving general study and writing advice.
I have also tutored younger siblings and family friends' children through their GCSEs, particularly English and Home Economics.

Tutoring Approach:

My approach to tutoring varies depending on the student. Each individual student has their own unique style of learning and I base my approach to their needs. In our first meeting, we will spend some time talking through how best the student learns - whether this is through visual aids, videos, repetition - as well as the goals which we will work to achieve.
Because I teach English, I generally like to give the student a small assignment to work on and then when we meet, we can go through the piece of writing looking at style, errors, and ways to improve. I am happy to work with the student on their homework, essays, longer pieces of coursework, or towards an exam. Learning is a long process and each week we will work on building up the students skills and confidence.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Edinburgh (2017) - MSc Literature and Modernity (ongoing) (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Glasgow (2016) - 1st class MA English Literature (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • Regent House Grammar School (2012) - 3 A-Levels (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Edinburgh English tutor, Edinburgh History Of Art tutor, Edinburgh Secondary English tutor, Edinburgh GCSE English tutor, Edinburgh A-Level English tutor, Edinburgh University English tutor, Edinburgh Casual Learner English tutor, Edinburgh GCSE History Of Art tutor, Edinburgh A-Level History Of Art tutor