Skip to main content

Information About Katie - Ilford tutor -
(1 reviews)

Profile Picture

Katie's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Katie:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £32.00£28.80
Secondary £32.00£28.80
GCSE £35.00£31.50

Entrance Exams

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
11 Plus £35.00£31.50
13 Plus £35.00£31.50
14 Plus £35.00£31.50
College £35.00£31.50

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £32.00£28.80
Secondary £32.00£28.80
GCSE £32.00£28.80
A-Level £35.00£31.50
University £35.00£31.50
Casual Learner £35.00£31.50

Map Location

Map for Katie (Ms)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a qualified teacher and for five years I have been teaching or tutoring English, entrance exams (particularly the 11+) and English as a Foreign Language. I have taught and tutored all ages through primary and secondary school, and up to adult learners. My lessons are friendly and interactive. On the CELTA teacher training course I achieved the highest grade, which is awarded to the top 4% of trainee teachers, and my previous Directors of Studies have graded my teaching as 'outstanding'. While tutoring I have taken students from achieving 40% to 100% on exams.

I love teaching, and always design my lessons to suit each student’s specific needs, and pride myself on my dedication, professionalism and student-centred approach.


I can provide references and a DBS check on request.

Tutoring Experience:

- (2014-present) Tutoring English (secondary level and GCSE), History (A-Level), and 11+ entrance exams for both grammar and private schools.
- (2013-2014) Two years teaching EFL at London summer schools to teenagers and adults. This includes preparing students for Cambridge exams (KET, PET, FCE and Proficiency)
- (2012-2013) One year teaching English as a Foreign Language full time to young learners and adults in Italy. Again, this included preparing students for Cambridge English exams.

Tutoring Approach:

All my lessons are tailored to each student's specific needs, and I ensure students are actively engaged throughout each class with learning activities and discussions - I'll never spend a whole lesson simply talking at a student! I believe one of the best ways to learn is by making and correcting mistakes, so I provide a friendly space for students to try things out, spot their errors, and then target these specific areas of weakness.

My teaching has been described as 'outstanding', 'inspiring' and 'creative'. I am an open and compassionate tutor, and will seek continual feedback to ensure my lessons are the best that they can be. I have taught a wide range of students, and have experience offering tailed support to both very confident and very nervous learners.

Within classes I typically focus on:
1. Teaching new topics and ensuring existing topics are fully understood
2. Improving exam and essay technique
3. Improving critical thinking skills

I offer two types of tutoring:
1. Face to face for students who live within traveling distance of Durham city centre
2. **Contact Detail Removed** sessions for students outside Durham

Qualifications:

  • UCL (2012) - CELTA Pass A (teacher training course for English Langauge) (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • UCL (2012) - History, First Class (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Finham Park Comprehensive School (2008) - A-Levels in English Language and Literature, History, Mathematics and Psychology (all grade A) (School) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Ilford English tutor, Ilford Entrance Exams tutor, Ilford English (Foreign Language) tutor, Ilford Primary English tutor, Ilford Secondary English tutor, Ilford GCSE English tutor, Ilford Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Ilford Secondary Entrance Exams tutor, Ilford GCSE Entrance Exams tutor, Ilford A-Level Entrance Exams tutor, Ilford Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Ilford Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Ilford GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor, Ilford A-Level English (Foreign Language) tutor, Ilford University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Ilford Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor