Information About Katie - Herne Bay tutor

Profile Picture

Katie's profile picture


Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Secondary £20.00


Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £30.00


Hourly Rate
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £25.00

Map Location

Map for Katie (Mrs)


Personal Description:

I am a Chemistry Graduate with 8 years experience in the pharmaceutical industry which gives me a great depth of knowledge into Science in a real-life context. I'm a mum of a 3 year old girl and both myself and my husband originate from Manchester. I'm a Man Utd fan but my poor husband chose to support Stockport County as he is from Stockport!
I love dogs and going for walks. We did have a very energetic Jack Russell called Tyson but unfortunately he passed away last year. We would love to get another dog one day. I believe Science should be fun and interesting, even when you are about to do exams in it. Its not always easy to understand, I used to struggle alot myself but I always loved it and worked hard and now I not only understand it but I find I am good and breaking it down to teach it to others who struggle as I have learnt different strategies for myself!

Tutoring Experience:

I always trained and taught others in my industrial role. I was made redundant and then went into teaching ages 11-16 I did my teacher training as a Graduate Teacher (GTP) and achieved Qualified Teacher Status in June 2011. After teaching from July to September at a school, I realised I did not want this as a long term career for numerous reasons, mostly I felt I wasnt able to make enough of a difference in large classes and I find it much more rewarding to teach one to one. Behavioural issues within schools can mean sometimes all pupils do not benefit as much as they should. My strength is in the teaching but unfortunately the behavioural management side was taking up too much of my time and that wasnt the reason I went into teaching. My hope is that through tutoring I can help those who are missing out due to the disruptive behaviour/distractions of classmates. I am currently tutoring a friends son with his GCSE science and as he has mild ASD, the one to one approach suits him very well and he is doing well

Tutoring Approach:

My approach is always geared to the individual. I would approach each topic with searching assessment either by verbal questioning or written questions (emailed to pupil for them to do prior to session). Where possible I have contacted the school of that pupil and they have put me in touch with their Science teacher and I have dialogue with the teacher to make sure I know where the pupils weaknesses are and where they are up to in class. This ensures the hour tutor time is geared to specific needs and the parent/carer know their money is being well spent. The key to success is to know your student well and their prefered learning style. I always approach tutoring with a friendly manner to build a relationship with the pupil so they feel comfortable and relaxed and ready to learn. I have connections to local school and with friends who are teachers so can access current resources easily.


  • Canterbury Christ Church University (2011) - Qualified Teacher Status (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Sussex (2000) - BSc Chemistry with European Studies (French) (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Sussex/ Chichester College (1996) - Molecular Sciences (A-level equiv) (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Flixton Girls High School (1992) - 8 A-C GCSEs inc Maths, English, Science, French (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Herne Bay Physics tutor, Herne Bay Chemistry tutor, Herne Bay Biology tutor, Herne Bay Secondary Physics tutor, Herne Bay Secondary Chemistry tutor, Herne Bay GCSE Chemistry tutor, Herne Bay Secondary Biology tutor, Herne Bay GCSE Biology tutor