Information About Kate - Dorking tutor -
(1 reviews)

Profile Picture

Kate's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Kate:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Kate (Mrs)


Personal Description:

As a fully qualified EFL teacher and French graduate, I am passionate about languages and learning. Having taught for many years for an FE college I now really enjoy private tutoring to all ages (from 8 to 80). I often teach from home as I live just a few minutes from the Ashcombe School in Dorking, but am happy to travel within a reasonable distance and would usually charge a little extra. I am married with two grown up children, one is a recent French and Russian graduate and the other works in Oxford. Among my other languages spoken are Italian, German and rudimentary Russian.

Tutoring Experience:

I began teaching at the age of 22 in Switzerland and have taught almost continually since then. I taught EFL for an FE college for 13 years and adult French classes for 5 and have also taught privately for a number of years. My EFL teaching experience includes the range of Cambridge exams, from PET to CAE, but also non-exam teaching. As far as French goes, I currently specialise in GCSE but have taught a range of levels and abilities. I enjoy one-to-one tutoring but also take pairs, or small groups and in such cases, I reduce the cost accordingly.

Tutoring Approach:

My lessons are always well planned and prepared, taking into careful account the needs and wishes of my students. I have a wealth of resources but am constantly updating them and keep abreast of any exam changes People say I quickly put my students at ease, and through gentle encouragement try to get the very best from them. By making the lessons an enjoyable experience, even the most reluctant of learners leave with a smile! With younger children, I try to establish a good rapport with the parents, and discuss their progress and expectations.


  • SCOLA (1998) - Certificate in TESOL (College) (✔ On File)
  • Kingston University (1997) - BA Hons 2.1 French/Politics (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Aberdeen College of Commerce (1977) - HND Sec Studies + Languages (College) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: German, Italian, Russian
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Dorking French tutor, Dorking English (Foreign Language) tutor, Dorking Primary French tutor, Dorking Secondary French tutor, Dorking GCSE French tutor, Dorking Casual Learner French tutor, Dorking Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Dorking Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Dorking GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor, Dorking A-Level English (Foreign Language) tutor, Dorking Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor