Information About Karin - Royston tutor -
(3 reviews)

Profile Picture

Karin's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Karin:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Secondary £23.00
GCSE £23.00
A-Level £25.00
University £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Map Location

Map for Karin (Mrs)


Personal Description:

I am originally from Germany and German is my first language. I became a school teacher having first obtained a teaching degree in ENGLISH .
I taught in a Realschule near Hamburg for three years completing my professional qualifications before moving to the UK.
I retired in 2013 but have remained very active. I am fluent in 3 languages. I am currently learning Spanish as a beginner at the U3A in Cambridge and improving my French conversational skills. I have a passion for languages. My others interests are sports ( tennis, yoga, Pilates) cinema, reading and travel.

Tutoring Experience:

I have 35 years of teaching experience and have taught at a variety of secondary schools in England, including independent, selective and comprehensive schools. I have extensive teaching experience at all levels, but my strong point has been preparing students for GCSE and A-level: the German examination results of my school were consistently amongst the best in the county. I am therefore experienced in examination preparation and have extensive knowledge of OCR and AQA specifications.

Since my retirement I have worked as an EXAMINER for OCR and have taught a number of private students. I have also worked for an agricultural firm in Cambridgeshire, teaching a mixed ability group. Teaching adults has been a very enjoyable experience. Recently I have been given the chance to work with small groups of pharmaceutical clients, this is to continue on a one to one basis.

I taught briefly at the Bell school in Cambridge.

During a career break (for children) I also worked as private tutor from home on a one to one basis but have also taught small conversation groups from home.

Tutoring Approach:

I cater for all levels, abilities and experience. It is important therefore to take time to find out about my student(s).
One of the things I enjoy about teaching is adapting to students' needs, depending on their age, previous life opportunities, education, employment as well as individual motivations and learning styles.
Everyone can learn a foreign language. As a tutor there is nothing more satisfying than channelling the efforts of students, encouraging them to go further and to witness their achievement.
I am a patient tutor and use a wide range of resources and tasks. My main aim is to increase learners' confidence and to build on previous knowledge and experience.
I am available to teach at my home or am prepared to tutor students in their own encironment, for which I would make a small charge.


  • Kiel (1994) - First German teaching exam (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Hamburg (1975) - Second exam (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: German
Additional Languages: French
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Royston German tutor, Royston Secondary German tutor, Royston GCSE German tutor, Royston A-Level German tutor, Royston University German tutor, Royston Casual Learner German tutor