Information About Karen - Stranraer tutor

Profile Picture

Karen's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Karen:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00

Map Location

Map for Karen (Ms)


Personal Description:

I am a well-travelled individual with a passion for my subject and for making a difference to the lives of other people. I am sociable, resilient and able to make people feel at ease in a learning environment. I am punctual and reliable as well as honest and trustworthy. I enjoy meeting new people and have many friends around the world through my travel, my university lecturing and my international voluntary work. I am currently re-locating to the Stranraer area where I am renovating a Galloway cottage, which is an exciting and challenging project! I have two grown-up children (both graduates) who live independently. I am a qualified Expedition Leader for the Duke of Edinburgh Award and enjoy most outdoor pursuits. I can speak basic French, Spanish and German and am a qualified TEFL teacher, having worked in this capacity in Spain and with clients from Italy, Japan, China and Pakistan.

Tutoring Experience:

Educated to BA (Hons) level from a Russell Group University I am an enthusiastic, creative and motivational tutor with experience across a range of age groups and abilities. My current post as Academic Mentor (English) in a large Manchester high school requires me to identify and remove barriers to learning for a diverse student body and in a range of learning environments. I have experience in the primary,secondary and higher education sectors and was a senior lecturer (Educational Development) at the University of Manchester for 10 years. I have lectured internationally and have taught English Language, English Literature and EFL. I have been a personal tutor for a reputable agency for three years and am always in demand! I have a proven track-record in achieving high grades for my students and pride myself on developing their knowledge, skills and confidence.

Tutoring Approach:

I am sociable, resilient and able to make people feel at ease in a learning environment. I am able to respond appropriately and sensitively to the needs of others and endeavour to create a bespoke learning environment for every student I work with. I am an excellent communicator and attentive listener - in this way I can usually identify barriers to learning and target specific areas of need. I try to create independence in the learner and develop autonomy and confidence. I set high standards for myself and my students and monitor progress closely to ensure that skills and knowledge are being gained. I can use humour, games and activities to support learning and strive to make every tutorial enjoyable as well as beneficial.


  • The University of Manchester (2000) - Masters (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • The University of Manchester (1999) - Honours Degree (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French, German, Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Stranraer English tutor, Stranraer English (Foreign Language) tutor, Stranraer Primary English tutor, Stranraer Secondary English tutor, Stranraer GCSE English tutor, Stranraer A-Level English tutor, Stranraer Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Stranraer Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Stranraer GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor