Skip to main content

Information About Kalpana - Leicester tutor -

Profile Picture

Kalpana's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Kalpana:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Casual Learner £15.00

Map Location

Map for Kalpana

Personal Description:

I am a self employed highly motivated individual, always thriving to do my best and try something new. I am a people's person and have always enjoyed helping others by sharing the knowledge and skills i have. I am a fun loving social person who is approachable in any situation. I believe life can get boring at times if we always do what we have always done. To make sure I am always learning something new and challenging I try and attempt new things that i know i would be good at. After suffering from a personal injury I started my own business and work from home. I have always loved being around people helping and teaching them what I am good at. I thought why not use my skills to tutor academic subjects.

Tutoring Experience:

After graduating I worked in the management sector for 6 years where i managed a team of up to 24 agents. I trained and managed them on a daily basis. The rewards were motivational seeing the team increase their performances. I have also been a dance tutor which is completely separate to my academic qualifications. Currently I am writing my own material to carry out motivational workshops for young people and adults. Maybe something I can work on in the future with children too.

Although I have not taught individuals any academic subjects I am comfortable knowing this is something that is not much different to managing 24 adults which can be more difficult. :-)

Tutoring Approach:

I would like to create a relaxed atmosphere where nobody feels under pressure or that they are being put under a spot light to be tested. My approach is very subtle. I prefer breaking the ice by getting to know each other a little outside the tutor/tutee relationship. Just a bit of background. This enables me to figure out the weaknesses and strengths of the individual. How they would like to be taught and what they are comfortable with. I believe dictating and controlling doesn't work with children.

I break the task into sections and explain what needs to be done. This makes it easier for them rather than tackling the whole problem in one go. I test the knowledge of the individual by asking leading questions to get an answer from them to make sure they understand what is required. Test, trial and results. I have done a course on "Honest and Effective Conversations". This works wonders on getting a result through asking the right questions at the right time and getting a reply which solves the problem.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: Gujarati
Additional Languages: English (British), Hindi
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Simply Changing (2013) - Performance Coaching (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • De Montfort University (2002) - BSC Hons in Law & Computing (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Wyggeston Queen Elizabeth I College (1999) - 3 A Levels & RSA CLAIT II (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Moat Community College (1996) - 9 GCSE'S including Maths and English (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Leicester English tutor, Leicester English (Foreign Language) tutor, Leicester Primary English tutor, Leicester Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Leicester Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor