Justin

Justin

Cambridge Tutor

My name is Justin and I am currently a student at the University of Cambridge studying Medicine. Previous to this I completed a degree in Neuroscience and Mental Health at Imperial College London.

I completed my GCSEs in 2013 at Tanglin Trust School in Singapore, thought to be one of the best British International Schools in South East Asia, before studying at Abingdon School for Sixth Form. I left Abingdon in 2015 with A*'s in Mathematics and Chemistry at A-Level, A's in Further Mathematics and Biology at A-Level, and an A in Economics at AS-Level, after having been a School Prefect and Head of House for the largest boarding house in the school. I was also involved in a wide range of extra curricular activities including Musical Theatre, Sailing and Volleyball.

At University I play an active role in the Biomedical Society, but I am involved various societies outside of my course, including Light Opera, Music and Lacrosse.
The prices I have listed are negotiable, based on travel required and timing.

Tutoring Experience

While in Singapore, I spent some time working in a school for the Dramatic Arts as a teaching assistant, mainly focusing on Drama Students, but I also spent time in the operations department, planning for sessions I would help in.
I also spent 4 years in Singapore volunteering with a charity called Beyond Social Services, which involved tutoring children with additional needs regarding education, and children from disadvantaged social backgrounds.

As Head of House and Prefect, I had lots of opportunities to practice my communicative skills and work with people of all ages. I also spent lots of my evenings working with boys between the ages of 13 and 18 in the boarding houses, helping them with their work in many different subjects. I also mentored some students in the year below in Maths and Chemistry AS.

I also spent two weeks volunteering in a small school in Moldova, where I taught English, Art and Sport to groups of approximately 25 children alongside my colleagues, with the children aged between 5 and 14.

Tutoring Approach

I firmly believe that my style of tutoring should be dependent on the tutee, with my methods changing as I get to know them better and see what works for them. I would initially like to have a conversation about how they learn best and what their goals are, and then I will do everything I can to ensure that together, we meet those goals.

I also believe that an interest in the subject is very important in aiding academic performance, so I will aim not only to help the tutee master the material, but I will try and inspire an interest in the subjects studied.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends
References Available On File

Qualifications

OCR2015CollegeMathematics A-Level
OCR2015CollegeFurther Mathematics A-Level
AQA2015CollegeBiology A-Level
OCR2015CollegeChemistry A-Level
Justin
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
25% discount on your first lesson!
MathsOne-to-oneOnline
Primary£20£17
Secondary£20£17
GCSE£20£17
A-Level£25£21.25
ChemistryOne-to-oneOnline
Secondary£20£17
GCSE£20£17
A-Level£25£21.25
BiologyOne-to-oneOnline
Secondary£20£17
GCSE£20£17
A-Level£25£21.25