Skip to main content

Information About Julien - Durham tutor

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Secondary £10.00
GCSE £10.00
A-Level £15.00

French

Hourly Rate
GCSE £15.00
A-Level £15.00
University £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Music

Hourly Rate
Secondary £10.00
GCSE £15.00
A-Level £15.00
University £20.00

Map Location

Map for Julien (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

I have a lively sense of curiosity, and am interested in virtually anything. Because of this I spend a lot of my time researching different subjects, trying to acquire the most knowledge I can. I am particularly at ease in Music, Mathematics, Physics, and Literature. I grew up in Paris, France, and studied at a French school (I am entirely fluent in French; I speak English because my mother is English), before coming to the UK for university. I believe the idea of passing on knowledge is one of the most rewarding thing is, since it enriches both the teacher, and the student.

Tutoring Experience:

I gave piano lessons and taught Solfège (music theory) to young children for a couple years. I also helped a number of people who had difficulties in Maths get through their Brevet or Baccalaureate. For this reason, I am experienced in explaining things simply and clearly, and can adapt to almost any age group.

Tutoring Approach:

Education is a must these days, but I fully understand why it can be challenging for some. Not everyone has the patience / dedication to spend hours and hours toying over an essay, or a physics problem. Also, we are all naturally talented in some areas, and less in others; to have difficulties in one or more subject areas is, to say the least, normal. To be honest, every student goes through a difficult period in learning. I would love to help those suffering from this, and perhaps give them a taste of the rewards of learning and working.
I believe the best way to help a student is to make him / her interested; indeed, every subject can be interesting, if dealt with the proper way. Once the student is interested, he will wish to learn more, and perhaps enjoy the teaching sessions. Thus, my first aim is always to be enthusiastic and understanding; I can then carefully work the person towards appreciating the subject. Also, I try to explain things in the most simple way possible, or at least through a medium which will naturally engrain the student with the right ideas, to avoid him feeling even a shadow of doubt when we are covering a topic. To learn properly, the person has to 'feel' the subject, and not simply attempt to memorize a set of rules / historical dates / philosophical ideas.
Tutoring was Socrates method of teaching for a very good reason: it allows the teacher to adapt to the student, and work the teaching around the student's personality and approach to the subject. This why I have no 'set manner of teaching', I will always consider the person's character traits and interests when elaborating a teaching approach.

Qualifications:

  • Durham University (2014) - Music degree - ongoing (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Lycée Victor Duruy (2010) - Baccalauréat: 16.5 / 20 - Mention Très Bien (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Collège Victor Duruy (2007) - Brevet: 17.2 / 20 - Mention Très Bien (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Durham Maths tutor, Durham French tutor, Durham Music tutor, Durham Secondary Maths tutor, Durham GCSE Maths tutor, Durham A-Level Maths tutor, Durham GCSE French tutor, Durham A-Level French tutor, Durham University French tutor, Durham Casual Learner French tutor, Durham Secondary Music tutor, Durham GCSE Music tutor, Durham A-Level Music tutor, Durham University Music tutor