Skip to main content

Information About Julie - Felixstowe tutor

Profile Picture

Julie's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Julie:





Subjects Taught

Julie offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!


Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £15.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £15.00
GCSE £15.00

Study Skills

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £15.00
GCSE £15.00

Personal Description:

I am educated to Masters level in history with a medieval specialisation, although my BA covered medieval to modern.

History is my passion and I constantly increase my knowledge in the subject via my other obsession of book collecting. I believe in lifelong learning because learning is fun. In tutoring, I aim to infect others with this joy for learning - as well as passing exams!

I have had two history books published and aim to publish further in addition to gaining my PhD. I am paid to work in a public library and in my spare time I volunteer for the National Trust and a local historical society. I am also a mum to three lovely children.

Tutoring Experience:

I have worked with a range of age groups encompassing pre-schoolers to adults.

I have tutored small groups of adults in creative writing, developing and delivering a six-week course.

In my work with the National Trust I have educated many groups of school visitors from primary and secondary levels in a range of classroom and outdoor based activities. These focused on the Anglo-Saxon period and WW2. I have also taken groups of adults out on site tours, delivering historical information.

The work I have done with pre-schoolers has involved the development and delivery of reading, craft and rhyme sessions within the library setting. In addition to this I have planned and managed a large number of children's events at the library.

Tutoring Approach:

I adopt a friendly and fun approach to teaching and like to ensure a student has a real sense of achievement by the end of every session. I will spend the first lesson with simple tasks to ascertain what a student likes and dislikes about the subject and the ways in which they find it easiest to learn, as well as their level of knowledge.

In order to keep tuition relaxed and stress free I am happy to work at the student's pace and begin at a level with which they are entirely comfortable, gradually increasing the challenges.

I will work closely with the needs of the curriculum and explain the techniques needed to gain marks in exams. I am able to offer considerable guidance in excellent essay writing skills.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Latin
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)


  • University of Wales, Trinity St. David (2015) - Medieval Studies, MA (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • The Open University (2013) - History, BA (hons) 2.1 (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Felixstowe English tutor, Felixstowe History tutor, Felixstowe Study Skills tutor, Felixstowe Primary English tutor, Felixstowe Secondary English tutor, Felixstowe Primary History tutor, Felixstowe Secondary History tutor, Felixstowe GCSE History tutor, Felixstowe Primary Study Skills tutor, Felixstowe Secondary Study Skills tutor, Felixstowe GCSE Study Skills tutor