Skip to main content

Information About Julie - Whitley Bay tutor -
(1 reviews)

References

This is how 2 referees rated Julie:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Map Location

Map for Julie (Mrs)

Share

Personal Description:

I live and work in North Tyneside. I am originally from London but have lived in the North East for over 20 years. I am married and have two children.

Tutoring Experience:

I have had over 20 years experience teaching and tutoring English in secondary schools, sixth form colleges and adult education. I currently teach adults for a local authority in the North East. This job means I have to be approachable, flexible, a good listener and a careful planner. I help adults from all different backgrounds to improve their English skills and achieve qualifications, such as GCSE and Level 2 English. I have a proven track record in helping students pass their exams and achieve their potential.

Tutoring Approach:

My current role in community education involves working with students who may not have had a very positive experience of learning in the past. I therefore have to be empathetic and listen carefully to each individual student's needs. I feel that it is important to encourage a meaningful dialogue between tutor and student. I aim to make learning clear, relevant and enjoyable. I think it's very important to establish an open and honest relationship from the start so that my students know that it's helpful to talk about how the learning is going. My experience also tells me that careful planning is essential. Students need to know why they are working on certain skills and need to feel that they are making good progress.

Qualifications:

  • University of Northumbria (2003) - Level 4 Teaching Literacy (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Durham (1984) - English (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Reading (1982) - English Degree (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Whitley Bay English tutor, Whitley Bay Secondary English tutor, Whitley Bay GCSE English tutor, Whitley Bay Casual Learner English tutor