Skip to main content

Information About Julie-Anne - Bedford tutor

Profile Picture

Julie-Anne's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Julie-Anne:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £25.00

Map Location

Map for Julie-Anne

Personal Description:

I am undergraduate university student currently studying Interior Architecture. A confident character with various attributes such as leadership, perseverance and commitment. I believe in completing tasks to a high standard with a given deadline and do not shy away from hard work. Enhanced communication skills adaptable to different audiences as well as the ability to handle difficult situations quickly, calmly and effectively. Having a mother as a maths teacher, initially sparked my interest in maths, and with her help and support, i now have a passion for the subject and wish to help students who struggle with or need extra help with maths.

Tutoring Experience:

Although i have not gained any official teaching qualifications, i have acquired teaching experience through different job roles.

TEAM LEADER - NCS UFA
Coaching and motivating a team of 15 diverse young people. Supporting to stretch and maximise their learning throughout the programme.
Being a positive role model at all times.
Plan, prepare and facilitate the set UFA programme.
Provide pastoral care, guided reflection and discipline.
Supervise young people on coach journeys.
Complete all administrative paperwork relating to the programme to set deadlines.

AFTERSCHOOL MATHS TEACHER – MAGICAL MATHS
Running a math’s club for children school years 1-4.
Being alert at all times to ensure the safety of all the children.
Maintaining a fun and positive attitude at all times.
Ensuring each child got home to the correct parent at the end of each session.
Patience to be able to explain difficult concepts in different ways so each child understood.

CORE SUBJECTS TUTOR- PRIVATE
Tutoring children school years 5-11 in Math’s, English and Science
Supporting and encouraging each child. Taking the time to go through things properly.
Adapting to the situation and trying different methods to suit the needs of each child.

I have also volunteered for the MENCAP programme, which is a summer school for disabled children. As part of the programme we were to support the children through very activities during the day.

Tutoring Approach:

Due to being a young adult, i believe that my tutoring style helps to alliviate the tension/pressure that can come with one to one tutoring. Many of my students have found that they enjoyed being tutored by a younger person as they felt more comfortable and could be more open.
Aside from this, as i am younger than most tutors, i still have a current working knowledge of the school systems as it was not that long ago that i was in a similar position as your child. With this, i am able to better understand the position your child is in, and will be able to cater the learning to suit their needs.
I believe in a firm but fair approach. I expect each student to abide by a few rules, but i also believe that students perform best in a relaxed environment. I do not wish my lessons to feel like school but rather a positive learning atmosphere. I find that having a few ice breakers on the first lesson, allows future lessons to progress more smoothly.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Wootton Upper School (2015) - Level 3 in Algebra (College) (✔ On File)
  • Wootton Upper School (2014) - GCSE Maths - Grade A (School) (✔ On File)
  • Wooton Upper School (2014) - Further Maths - Grade B (School) (✔ On File)
  • Wootton Upper School (2013) - GCSE English Language - Grade A (School) (✔ On File)
  • Wooton Upper School (2013) - GCSE English Language - Grade A (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Wootton Upper School (2013) - GCSE English Language - Grade A (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Bedford Maths tutor, Bedford Primary Maths tutor, Bedford Secondary Maths tutor, Bedford GCSE Maths tutor