Skip to main content

Information About Julian - Darwen tutor -


Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £20.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I am 61 years old and a qualified barrister. I have worked for the last 26 years in the Government Legal Service and am presently a senior lawyer within the Solicitor's Office for H M Revenue & Customs in Salford working within a tax litigation team. I have in the recent past reduced my hours and am part time so have time on my hands and would relish a fresh challenge.

Tutoring Experience:

I taught a foundation law module for a private accountancy college some 25 years ago whilst undertaking pupillage for the Bar. I am 'trained trainer' within HMRC and regularly provide legal and associated training for colleagues. Most recently have made a number of presentations to legal and business colleagues on litigation before the First Tier Tribunals and principles of Judicial Review. My job entails me appearing on occasions before the Tax Tribunal so am used to public speaking.

Tutoring Approach:

I believe myeslf to be personable and well rounded and used to meeting new people in different settings with my job. I am a highly experienced lawyer and, although clearly specialising in tax law given my job, I become involved in wider legal issues across both civil and criminal law so would feel confident in quickly picking up college law syllabuses for young students. I believe I would quickly establish a rapport with tutees given all of this.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)


  • Council for Legal Education (London) (1983) - Bar Finals (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • Preston Poytechnic (now UCLAN) (1978) - BA Law Hons (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Darwen Law tutor, Darwen Secondary Law tutor, Darwen GCSE Law tutor, Darwen A-Level Law tutor