Skip to main content

Information About Julia - Oswestry tutor

Profile Picture

Julia's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Julia:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00

Craft and Design

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00

Map Location

Map for Julia (Mrs)

Share

Personal Description:

I have a passion for teaching and learning, and thoroughly enjoy working with children and young people to enhance their educational experience. I have the patience and enthusiasm to help bring out a pupil's potential.

I am currently setting up art workshops for home educated children and after school art clubs in the Shropshire area.
I am happy to develop workshops in other subject areas.

I have a thorough knowledge of the varied curriculums and approaches used by home educators, as well as the National Curriculum Key Stage 1 & 2, and to Key Stage 4 in Art & Design.

Tutoring Experience:

1985-1991: I spent 5 years teaching in private & government schools in Malaysia, Kenya, and Australia. I taught children aged between 3 and 12 in all subject areas, apart from foreign languages. I have taught English to children who only speak a foreign language.

1994-1997: I tutored children, including a child with cerebral palsy, in English, maths & art in London . During this time I also tutored a number of children's art workshops at the Hampstead School of Art, London.

In 1997 I was one of 4 professional artists chosen to create 2D and 3D art with 500 children from 10 local primary schools in Wales on a 7 week project.

Since then I have home educated my own 3 children for 9 years and have taught history, science and art workshops to groups of home educated children.
I also tutor teenagers in art & design portfolio preparation for art college interviews.

Tutoring Approach:

I am extremely passionate about educating children. I enjoy taking a modern and inspiring approach to teaching, and am always interested in new educational ideas. I believe that education should be tailored to the pupil. I work with students and their families to fully understand what they want to get out of each session. A large part of tutoring involves raising the confidence of my pupils and my overall aim is to make learning accessible and enjoyable for all.

Qualifications:

  • Chelsea College of Art & Design, London (1996) - Foundation in Fine Art (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Hampstead School of Art, London (1995) - Pre-Foundation in Fine Art (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Charles Sturt University, NSW, Australia (1989) - Bachelor of Education (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Riverina College of Advanced Education, Wagga wagga, NSW Australia (1984) - Diploma of Teaching (College) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (daytime)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Oswestry Maths tutor, Oswestry English tutor, Oswestry Craft and Design tutor, Oswestry Primary Maths tutor, Oswestry Primary English tutor, Oswestry Primary Craft and Design tutor, Oswestry Secondary Craft and Design tutor, Oswestry GCSE Craft and Design tutor