Julia

I have degrees in English and Psychology, and a PhD in Anthropology. I am an experienced tutor, having previously taught for the Open University and at Durham University. I used to teach children English and Maths for an agency, but left them because it is no longer practical for me to teach in pupils' houses. I also have my own children, aged 4, 12 and 15, and have plenty of experience helping them with their mathematics and other academic subjects. I particularly enjoy teaching younger children as I know it is essential to get the basics of maths understood before they can progress to more complex questions, and it's great feeling when you see a child who has been struggling with a topic finally 'get' it.

Tutoring Experience

I have previously taught children English and Maths up to GCSE level for an agency, but left them because it is no longer practical for me to teach away from home. I have also taught for the Open University and for Durham University.

Tutoring Approach

I like to use real objects to help children with maths, so they get a real understanding of a topic, before introducing the same material in a more abstract way. For instance, to teach fractions I might cut up a small pizza and ask them to whether they would prefer to eat half the pizza or a third of it... Only then would I introduce the written form of these fractions. Learning about negative numbers might involve running up and down the stairs, with the middle stair being labelled as zero... I have plenty of experience of what works from teaching my own children, aged 15, 12 and 4. I am flexible and if a particular approach isn't working with a particular individual, I am happy to change to a different approach. For instance, some children may need lots of easy questions to build confidence, while others may find lots of easy questions dull and lose concentration, needing more of a challenge.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

University of Durham2012DoctoratePhD in Sociocultural Anthropology

Julia's Feedback

Feedback
2
Published feedback
2
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
50% discount on your first lesson!