Online Maths Tuition

Hi, I’m Jonny, an undergraduate at the University of Bath. I am 20 years old and I am currently studying Mathematics. I have studied Maths and Further Maths in both A-Level and GCSE over the past few years, achieving top grades in all qualifications. More importantly though, I have a genuine love for the subject! I have tutored students and peers for the past three years and they tell me that my enthusiasm and ability to explain new content really improves their understanding. If you have any questions or know someone that might be interested, please don't hesitate to get in contact and I’d be more than happy to help.

Tutoring Experience

During my 1st year of university, I tutored a 16-year-old student in IGCSE Mathematics. Maths did not come naturally to the student but throughout the year we identified their strengths and improved upon their weaknesses. Below I have listed my experience gained
- His grade improved from a low D to a B (actually GCSE result)
- Marked exercises, past papers and gave constructive feedback to the student
- Provided regular feedback to the parents on the student’s progress and their interaction in the sessions
Here are the parents comments: "Jonny Pye is quietly spoken, charming, understanding and caring. ... He starts at the beginning and moves forward until he finds a “hole” - a break in the knowledge / a lack of understanding - then he works with the pupil until they are confident it all makes sense and moves forward. Slowly and surely they work together until the next “hole” appears and then they fix this. ... I think it is an advantage that Jonny is young and is therefore able to relate to our 16-year-old son. We have been very happy, satisfied and reassured by Jonny and have no hesitation in recommending him.”

Having just finished the school exam process myself, I am well equipped to work with you. At my school, I regularly committed to a 1-to-1 “study buddy” scheme, where I taught maths to a younger student. I also assisted 1-to-1 teaching at extra lunch time sessions to peers and younger students who wanted additional help. I also have excellent supporting references from both the Head and Assistant Head of Mathematics at Caterham School (my old school and 6th form). Please contact me if you would like a copy.

Tutoring Approach

If you don't understand the content initially then I'll work with you to find a second or maybe third way in which you do. I’ll never just give you the answer. I am aware that maths doesn’t come naturally to everyone but I will explain things in a friendly and helpful manner so that you gain confidence and a true understanding of what’s going on. I aim to work with you in a constructive and friendly manner. Tutoring isn't just about learning, its about engaging with the subject and enjoying it - only then can you achieve your full potential.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (evenings)
References Available On File


Caterham School2015CollegeA-Level Maths (A*)
Caterham School2015CollegeA-Level Further Maths (A*)
Caterham School2013SchoolGCSE Maths (A*)
Caterham School2013SchoolGCSE Maths (further / additional) (A*/A*)
Rating from 2 references


Subjects taught