Skip to main content

Information About Jonny - Waltham Forest tutor -
(1 reviews)

Profile Picture

Jonny's profile picture

References

This is how a referee rated Jonny:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
University £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Physics

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00

Map Location

Map for Jonny (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

From an early age I have been extremely enthusiastic about mathematics and since leaving education, and before I chose to pursue a career in education, I have been fascinated by learning and problem solving. I am currently a teacher in a new school in Hackney, East London. The college is for 14-18 year olds so I specialise in GCSE and A-Level maths teaching. We cater for a range of different backgrounds and abilities which requires the staff to have a wide ranging skill-set. I have previously taught for 5 full years, including 2 years at a 4-18 international school, and have 3 years teaching experience in the UK. My previous school was an independent international school. In all my years as a teacher I have taught GCSE classes and have come to have a sound knowledge of both AQA and Edexcel curriculums. I am also aware that GCSEs serve 2 purposes - one to gain a specific skill set and acquire subject knowledge, the other to achieve a prestigious and important qualification. I have worked in business for several years since completing a maths masters degree at Leeds University. As a relatively new teacher I have a fresh perspective on current barriers to learning and misconceptions within my chosen subject.

I am interested in all facets of sport - playing, watching, coaching and analyzing. I am keen to try new activities, and have recently taken up playing golf and tennis regularly. Whilst away from home, I am often keeping up to date with news of my local and favourite teams. My biggest sporting passion is football.

I enjoy a healthy lifestyle. I find cycling and spending time in the gym great ways to relax.

Tutoring Experience:

3 years in England, 2 year overseas in the Dominican Republic (students are 95% native Spanish speakers), 1 year PGCE training incorporating placements at 2 schools in Louth, trained at Lincoln BGUC. I am currently acting head of department at my college.

Tutoring Approach:

I believe the key to learning is presenting a new topic in a way that the learner can engage with best. I would aim to break a complex problem down into smaller more manageable parts. Maths is a subject where each new concept is just a collection of previously learnt skills or techniques used in a specific way. I would visit the house of the tutee under the supervision of a parent. Also, if acceptable, I would try to involve a parent in the tuition process so that they can work with the tutee at a later date, if they thought it would help. I am happy to set additional work to be finished between tuition sessions, if the parent and tutee consent to this. I aim to not only help the tutee in acquiring the grade they want but also to improve their confidence in maths and help inspire them to enjoy the subject more.

Qualifications:

  • Lincoln Bishop Grosseteste (2007) - PGCE Secondary (Maths) (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Leeds (2003) - MMath Mathematics (2:2) (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • Tollbar BEC (1999) - A-Level Maths - B (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Tollbar BEC (1997) - GCSE Maths - A (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Waltham Forest Maths tutor, Waltham Forest Physics tutor, Waltham Forest Secondary Maths tutor, Waltham Forest GCSE Maths tutor, Waltham Forest A-Level Maths tutor, Waltham Forest University Maths tutor, Waltham Forest Casual Learner Maths tutor, Waltham Forest Secondary Physics tutor, Waltham Forest GCSE Physics tutor