Skip to main content

Information About Jonathan - Dulwich tutor

Profile Picture

Jonathan's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Jonathan:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £35.00
A-Level £40.00

Map Location

Map for Jonathan (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a 25 year old who has just moved to Herne Hill, having previously lived in Clapham. I have had a passion for English for as long as I can remember; since childhood, I have been a keen and enthusiastic reader, and have always encouraged others to do the same. The love of studying English at A Level persuaded me to take this subject to university level. After graduating with a 2:1, I worked at the New Victoria Theatre in Woking for a year, before completing teacher training. I am currently completing an MA in Modern and Contemporary Fictions at the University of Westminster, and hope to go on teach in a Sixth Form College.

In my spare time, I enjoy teaching myself new songs on guitar or drums, and love watching films and going to the theatre. I have recently turned my hand to writing my own plays, and sent them to off to theatres with the aim of having them performed. I also enjoy cooking and experimenting with new ingredients and recipes.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been an English teacher for 2 years, and was delighted to be promoted to Deputy Head of the English Department after my first year. This provided me with greater responsibility for the students at the school, such as the most effective ways that students can make progress, as well as understanding of my subject, broadening my knowledge of a range of texts and topics. I achieved either ‘Good’ or ‘Outstanding’ for my lessons in OFSTED-style assessments held internally at my school.

I have taught classes of all secondary age groups, from 11 to 18, meaning that I am able to prepare students for various demands and situations, for example: adapting to the work at a secondary school; SATs; GCSEs; and A Levels. As Second in Department, I also have a good working knowledge of the new GCSE and A Level examinations which will be starting as of next year.

On top of this, I have experience of tutoring an eleven year old boy who was just about to start secondary school; this, in addition to my own experience of working one-on-one with students, means I am extremely confident and capable of delivering an effective tutoring session.

Tutoring Approach:

My experience as a teacher has taught me that it is essential for the student to be comfortable, and to enjoy what they are learning to get great results. As such, I will ensure that my students are able to engage with what they are learning by making it relevant to them. For example, when tutoring a boy to boost his skills and enjoyment of writing, I suggested he created his own heroes, villains, and settings to that he was inspired to write his own story of several chapters in length, rather than having me deciding what he wrote.

I believe that a tutoring session should still follow the fundamentals of a lesson at school, such as recapping previous knowledge, a clear learning objective and steps to achieve that, and finally, consolidating the learning at the end of the session. My experience in planning and teaching lessons means I am well placed to deliver this successfully.

Qualifications:

  • University of Westminster (2016) - MA Modern and Contemporary Fictions (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Roehampton (2013) - Secondary English (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • Department for Education (2013) - Secondary Education (QTS) (✔ On File)
  • University of Leicester (2011) - BA English (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Dulwich English tutor, Dulwich Secondary English tutor, Dulwich GCSE English tutor, Dulwich A-Level English tutor