Jon

Jon

Wednesbury Tutor

44 year old maths teacher who enjoys collecting records as well as taking my three terriers and one retired greyhound for walks. I'm also a keen geocacher and caravaner. I'm dad to 4 children aged 10-21 and love every minute of being a parent.

Tutoring Experience

I have 21 years teaching experience. For the first 9 1/2 years I taught primary, and then after 3 years in supply moved in to secondary maths teaching. I have taught from lower ability year 7 right up to higher level year 11s, as well as year 12 and 13 GCSE resit groups, all to a high level of success.

I am able to combine my primary experience to help to unlock the hidden potential in learners. I am keen on developing transition skills from year 6 to year 7 to enable learners to hit the ground running as they begin their secondary journey.

Tutoring Approach

My style is very much informal and fun, whilst developing an understanding of WHY and HOW something works, not just accepting that it DOES. Teaching purely to pass an exam isn't a fruitful approach, and so I aim to provide an individual approach that will equip you with the skills to take into the exam hall, but also beyond.

I would always aim to ensure that each session it tailored to your individual needs, whether that be working through topics, coaching for exams or anything else. From the moment we start, the sessions are to help you. If I can help take your maths forward in some way, then let's do it.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (evenings)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Westminster College, Oxford1997BachelorsBEd (hons)
University of Wolverhampton2012ProfessionalPG Cert in Maths Education

Jon's Feedback

Feedback
3
Published feedback
3
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Jon
Rating from 4 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
Maths
Primary£22
Secondary£25
GCSE£28