Skip to main content

Information About John - Whitstable tutor

References

This is how 2 referees rated John:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Music

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00
University £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Map Location

Map for John (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a professional musician of 35 years experience. I play guitar and bass guitar to a professional level with experience of TV, recording studios and live work. I can play all types of music including rock, country, blues and jazz and have worked in several countries including the UK, USA and Europe. I have been lucky to play for a number of well known artists and television programs over the years. I am now based in Whitstable, Kent.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been a qualified secondary school teacher since 2008 and private tutor for over 20 years. I have taught at most levels of education namely secondary school, sixth form (BTech), further education college and university. As a private tutor I have had many students with age ranges from 5 to 74 and I have a current DBS (formerly CRB) check. Also as a private tutor I have had a number of students take music grades through the RGT where I am a member ( Register of Guitar Tutors), with 100% success rate.

Tutoring Approach:

I have always been a dedicated teacher regardless of the ability level of student. It is very easy to demotivate someone who is learning any instrument with the wrong advice or guidance. Most students want to learn for fun or to play like the bands or artists they like. I always encourage this as this is the reason I started in the first place. My overall approach to tutoring is to listen to the student and what they want to get out of lessons. Then and only then can a program of lessons be organised. I am also happy to structure lessons or to work with students on their own music or to help them learn their favourite songs as they want. I like teaching all levels and abilities regardless as the end result is to have fun and to learn your instrument to the level that you want. I am also experienced at developing better playing techniques in students who want to better their existing skills.

Qualifications:

  • Community College Sittingbourne (2008) - Secondary Education (QTS) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Greenwich (1992) - 2:2 Combined studies (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (daytime)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Whitstable Music tutor, Whitstable Primary Music tutor, Whitstable Secondary Music tutor, Whitstable GCSE Music tutor, Whitstable A-Level Music tutor, Whitstable University Music tutor, Whitstable Casual Learner Music tutor