Skip to main content

Information About John - Ellesmere Port tutor

Profile Picture

John's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated John:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

My name is John. I am 34 years old and I have been teaching for 7 years. Prior to this I was working in the financial services industry as a mortgage underwriter. I graduated from the University of Liverpool in 2004, and I have spent time working for Morgan Stanley and Deutsche Bank in my previous roles.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been teaching for 7 years, including Mathematics up to GCSE level and A-Level Accounting. My current position is as a teacher of Mathematics at a school in the Ellesmere Port area, following a 2 year spell at an Academy in Runcorn.

I like to try and engage students using a variety of techniques and approaches, and relate the subject matter to real life scenarios where possible. It is important to assess progress regularly to determine the success of learning, and identifying gaps in students' knowledge.

Tutoring Approach:

I like to tailor tutoring sessions to the needs of the individual as much as possible. For example, year 11 students approaching examinations would need practice papers from the exam board for which they are sitting the external exam. Other students may wish to focus on a particular area of weakness (e.g. algebra). Suitable resources will be provided for each session and retained by the tutee for reference or revision.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)


  • Edge Hill University (2011) - Secondary Mathematics (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • University of Liverpool (2004) - 2:1 BA Accounting (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Ellesmere Port Maths tutor, Ellesmere Port Primary Maths tutor, Ellesmere Port Secondary Maths tutor, Ellesmere Port GCSE Maths tutor