Information About John - Tavistock tutor -
(6 reviews)


This is how 2 referees rated John:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Secondary £18.00
GCSE £18.00
A-Level £18.00
University £18.00
Casual Learner £18.00

Map Location

Map for John (Mr)


Personal Description:

I am a retired mathematics teacher but still enjoy teaching and learning . My other interests include learning to play the piano ( much harder than mathematics! ) and lots of water sports, windsurfing, sailing, kayaking in particular. I am married with three children and three grandchildren all living close by so that the grandchildren get free tutoring whether they like it or not.

Tutoring Experience:

My first teaching post was at Exmouth School.It was a grammar school when I arrived but changed two years later to become a comprehensive. I was there for seven years teaching mathematics throughout the age range but focussing particularly on exam work. I then taught at a Further Education College in Cambridgeshire teaching mainly pure maths, applied maths and statistics as separate "A" levels. I completed my career teaching GCSE and"A" level mathematics at a technology school in Peterborough before returning to Devon in retirement. Since then I have tutored many students and believe that I have made a significant contribution to their results.

Tutoring Approach:

When I meet a student for the first time my aim is to gain their confidence quickly. I want the student to feel that here is someone who can really make a difference to their results. I believe that I can. I know the exam content backwards and have spent my working life fine-tuning ways of explaining the processes involved. Sometimes the student knows exactly which topics he needs assistance with whilst others prefer to be guided by me, both options are fine. I use text books and past papers frequently, I believe clear explanation followed by practice examples works best. The hour will be intense and will "fly by" but it is very important that the student consolidates the work covered by going over it themselves shortly afterwards and completes the examples that I will leave them with to be checked over at the start of the next session. Once I know the details of the exam in question I will obtain a copy of the syllabus and go through it with the tutee deciding which topics need attention and in which order. It is very important to keep revising topics already covered so that most sessions will start by going over work set on the previous visit followed by ten minutes recapping on important results already covered.
In nearly all cases I have travelled to the student's home rather than the student coming to me. This often seems to be the best option as it avoids parents having to wait around for an hour but I then have to charge a small amount to cover the time and travel costs, but both options are available and can be discussed at the outset.
Choosing a tutor is not easy but I will guarantee that whenever I act as a tutor I will always do my very best to make a real difference.


  • Hull University (1967) - Merit (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • Leeds University (1963) - third honours (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Tavistock Maths tutor, Tavistock Secondary Maths tutor, Tavistock GCSE Maths tutor, Tavistock A-Level Maths tutor, Tavistock University Maths tutor, Tavistock Casual Learner Maths tutor