Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: 0203 962 1468
Call now to speak to an advisor: 0203 962 1468

John

I am an early-retired scientist with a career that remained mainly on the technical side involving advanced mathematics. I have a wide range of interests including chess and bridge, hill walking and table-tennis, and many cultural interests.

Tutoring Experience

My first teaching experience was at Oxford University where, as well as tutoring first and third year undergraduates in maths, I worked for a local private "crammer" teaching mainly O and A-level maths. Subsequently I tutored friends and relatives on request. My career as a scientist included peer-reviewing countless technical documents which involved discussing and sorting out conceptual and mathematical details with the authors. I have been tutoring since 2009 which has been an enjoyable experience both for me and (I believe!) for my students. I am very happy with the feedback I have been receiving together with some gratifying exam results.

Tutoring Approach

Until recently I was happy teaching a range of levels but now I will only consider more challenging material (advanced A-level, STEP, university entrance) and more aspirational students. My teaching style is informal with the student encouraged to participate fully and creatively. I only take on a few students so remain fairly flexible in arranging lessons.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Oxford University1980DoctorateD Phil Maths
Cambridge University1969MastersMaths Tripos Part 3
Cambridge University1968BachelorsBA Maths (first class honours)

John's Feedback

Feedback
14
Published feedback
14
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught