Skip to main content

Information About John - Canonbury tutor

References

This is how 2 referees rated John:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

German

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00

Latin

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £50.00
A-Level £50.00
University £30.00
Casual Learner £50.00

Mandarin

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00

Map Location

Map for John

Personal Description:

Language expert and multilingual. Degree in Classics (Greek and Latin philology) from St. Andrews in University. Italian/English billingual. Fluent in German and Mandarin Chinese (HSK level 5, passed in 3 months). Speak conversational Korean and modern Greek.

Tutoring Experience:

English teacher for 6 years. During that time I taught children of all ages and abilities including those with special needs and learning difficulties. Also have extensive teaching experience with adults from university students to businessmen. Worked at China's 8th top university as an academic English teacher of writing. I have also managed 2 summer camps for young learner coming to the UK to learn English.

Tutoring Approach:

I understand the language learning process from both sides as teacher and student. I have learned languages through reading and writing (Latin and Ancient Greek), through education systems (German, Korean) and by speaking and self-study (Chinese). As a teacher I was able to integrate this knowledge to design courses and lessons that took advantage of my students strengths while working on their weaknesses.
I also understand the importance of having a positive relationship with my students and know that self-expression is an integral part of the language learning process. However I also understand that hard-work is key because this how progress and satisfaction are attained within the learning process. Therefore I encourage awareness and engagement with the learning process, not just a focus on outcomes.
My refined and complex approach to learning and teaching means that my students learn more efficiently and gain more out of my lessons because of my extensive and in-depth experience of language.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Qualifications:

  • HSK (2015) - HSK (Chinese government exam for foreigners), Level 5 (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of St Andrews (2009) - Scottish MA in Classics (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Cambridge University (2008) - CELTA (certificate of teaching language to adults), Pass (Other) (✔ On File)

Tags: Canonbury German tutor, Canonbury Latin tutor, Canonbury Mandarin tutor, Canonbury Primary German tutor, Canonbury Secondary German tutor, Canonbury GCSE German tutor, Canonbury A-Level German tutor, Canonbury Primary Latin tutor, Canonbury Secondary Latin tutor, Canonbury GCSE Latin tutor, Canonbury A-Level Latin tutor, Canonbury University Latin tutor, Canonbury Casual Learner Latin tutor, Canonbury Primary Mandarin tutor, Canonbury Secondary Mandarin tutor, Canonbury GCSE Mandarin tutor, Canonbury A-Level Mandarin tutor