John

John

Peckham Tutor

I was brought up in a bilingual environment. My mother is from Oxford and my father is Italian. Therefore I speak fluent Italian and English and I’m not too bad in French as I studied 8 years of it at school and college.
I’m 24 years old, scorpio and consider myself an artsy fartsy young man, I expressed a lot in my life through painting, drawing, piano, photography but since 2010, I’ve been using a different medium, which is motion pictures.

When I was a child, my mother would make me listen to different types of music and watch many musicals and Disney films. And at night I’d take my headphones and I’d listen to these soundtracks so loud in my bed. I would create my own visuals and I believe music feeds visuals and visuals feed music and that’s how I started to create my identity even before knowing I’d want to tell stories and become a “film director”.

I'm interested in film and in its power to communicate and influence others. I believe that by blend- ing the three strongest forms of art: music, visuals and storytelling you can create something far stronger than using only one of these elements.

Tutoring Experience

I worked mainly as a language tutor in Rome, from September 2013 until December 2014, after that I moved to London to begin my Masters degree course.

Regarding English language, I tutored a wide range of teenagers and adults, both at their beginners stage and more eloquent ones needing to have a stronger mastery of the language, especially for work.
In addition I worked for 18 months as a tutor for a performing arts learning english language course called: JazziTupKids, based in Rome.

Regarding Italian language, I tutored many erasmus students from different parts of Europe, living momentarily in Rome and International students, mainly from the US or Canada. In addition thanks to my bilinguality and mastery, both in the Italian and English language, phonetically and grammatically, I found myself being of very high level at managing to convey excellent learning language skills.

Tutoring Approach

My approach to tutoring is simple, of course I take every tutee extremely differently, basing myself on there personality and level of understanding and comprehension. This changes my attitude towards them and makes me rework around them in order to find effective ways to convey what it is that I'm trying to teach them and most importantly always to keep my tutee's moral and standards up to the level required and expected. I learnt a lot about this when I tutored large or smaller groups, where everyone is so different from each other, not just the level of the language, but of personality wise. Moreover, this made me also reconsider and get far better at one to one private lessons.

LanguagesEnglish (British), Italian
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (evenings)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Liceo Scientifico Carlo Pisacane2010CollegeDiploma
University of Wales, Newport 2013BachelorsFilm & Video
London Film School 2017MastersMA Filmmaking
John
Rating from 4 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
25% discount on your first lesson!
ItalianOne-to-oneOnline
Primary£40£30
Secondary£40£30
GCSE£40£30
A-Level£40£30
University£40£30
Casual Learner£40£30
HistoryOne-to-oneOnline
Primary£30£22.50
Secondary£30£22.50
GCSE£40£30
GeographyOne-to-oneOnline
Primary£30£22.50
Secondary£30£22.50
GCSE£40£30
English (Foreign Language)One-to-oneOnline
University£40£30
Casual Learner£40£30