Information About Joel - Paddington tutor

Profile Picture

Joel's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Joel:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £30.00

Map Location

Map for Joel (Mr)


Personal Description:

My name is Joel , I am twenty years old and am currently an undergraduate studying BA English at University College London.

I'm reliable, friendly and patient so believe that one-on-one tutoring would be both enjoyable for myself as a lover of the subject and also my tutees, who I hope will find enjoyment as well as education in our sessions.

I also sought out tutoring during my A-Levels having struggled with Chemistry at AS, so am aware of exactly how valuable one-on-one tuition can be, in addition to what worked best for myself as a student.

At A-Level I achieved AAA (plus A* in EPQ), and at GCSE I achieved A*s in both English Literature and Language.

Tutoring Experience:

Though I am yet to establish myself as a tutor, my continual study of the subject at university, in addition to the fact that I myself have recently undergone GCSE and A-Level examinations means that my knowledge is up-to-date and my understanding of exam technique as current as is possible.

During my time at secondary school I also participated in a scheme called 'Co-creation'. This involved students learning to effectively plan and design lessons, and ultimately teach these lessons to pupils of the same age and younger.

Tutoring Approach:

My approach to tutoring will depend on the specific needs of each pupil, since the skills involved in the study of literature are so various and ranging.

If work is required on written style then I would use exemplar pieces to hone the quality of the student's written expression, in addition to working on the specific texts required for the course. Whereas, if the student's needs lie in the understanding of texts, then my approach would be more conversational with the hope that the student could begin to form some ideas of his/her own from our discussions.


  • University College London (2018) - BA English: Pending (Bachelors) (in progress)
  • Monkswalk School (2015) - A-Level English: A (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Monkswalk School (2015) - A-Level History: A (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Monkswalk School (2013) - GCSE English Literature: A* (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Paddington English tutor, Paddington GCSE English tutor, Paddington A-Level English tutor